Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I loved this recipe and so did my 3 year old. Before it even cooled, she asked for 2 servings of it. She is my best critic! What I did was use approx. 2.5 to 3lbs of apples, some were Macintosh and few were Red Delicious. I also included the only pear that I had. I followed the directions and placed them iin the blender. I did peel 4 peaches, freshly picked and added those to the mixture in blender. I added 4 tbls of sugar a dash of cinnamon and I grated fresh nutmeg to my taste! It is absolutely yummy! I will make this again next time with 1.5 lbs of pears and 1.5 lbs of apples! Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I buy 6 bushels of apples in the fall and freeze applesauce to last all year. It is much easier to just quarter the apples and cook them with the peels on, then run it thru the food mill. Saves alot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Instead of sugar and cinnamon I use the little red cinnamon heart candies that I buy around Valentines Day. Stir in to taste and you will have a beautiful pink coloured apple sauce that has cinnamon as well. Looks and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
the only imperfection is the amount of sugar!!! :) i added two of those single serving packets of honey instead of sugar. yum :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Super quick and easy, and so good! I used half the amount of sugar and substituted brown for white, as well as adding a bit of cinnamon. For those complaining of too much water, drain your apples before mashing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
fabulous! I used slightly less water than called for but this is the best. Added a little cinnamon. Good warm or cold. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Easy and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Very good! I did cut down to water to about 2 cups and still had to drain a little at the end and I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup. It was pretty sweet but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
So easy! This really is fool-proof. It tastes amazing with a generous sprinkling of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
The 1st lot I made I added some cinnamon & the 2nd lot I added fresh strawberry's. It was a huge hit with the kids. I got 4 8oz jam jars & then I gave them a boiling water bath to seal them, so I could put them into my food storage. I drained some of the water before I put it into the blender, I also added the 1/4 cup sugar & lemon juice while I was cooking the apples so I didn't recook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States