Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I'd never made applesauce before. This became my "go to" recipe this fall. We use freshly picked apples of a sweet and tart variety - 8 lbs total. I used my smoothie maker to puree and the consistency was wonderful. I added no sugar, 1/2 tsp each nutmeg & cinnamon and juice of 1/2 a lemon. I also drained the apples and thank those who added that helpful hint. I kept back some of the water, refrigerated it and replaced normal tap water with it to make morning oatmeal and cream of wheat. My kids can't get enough of this applesauce! Thanks for sharing. This was really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This makes a delicious apple sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Monticello, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I love this recipe!! I tripled it to make more at a time and it worked great!! I also left out the cinammon and made regular applesauce and it was awesome!! I highly recommened this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Great basic recipe - I used Empire apples, treated in lemon water to prevent browming, so at first I added no sugar but after cooking and pureeing the apples I found it too tart for my taste buds, never mind my daughter's. So I added half the sugar and it came out perfect - not too sweet, just slightly tart, and very fresh-tasting. I'll probably make a sugarless batch to use in baking, regardless of the apple type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Fantastic recipe! After making the applesauce, I split the finished product and added a little bit of cinnamon to one half. I will definitely be making this recipe all the time...so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Try making this without sugar (or with very little). The natural sweetness of the apples would be enough without adding more. To really make a great applesauce add cinnamon and nutmeg - YUM! I've been doing this for years including when my girls were babies and they've grown up on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
OUTSTANDING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I had no idea applesauce was so easy to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
You can't get any simpler than this recipe. It was so fast and easy to make. I used a combo of Granny Smith and Pink Lady apples. I used a hand blender to puree my cooked apples, leaving it a little chunky. I added just 1/4 cup of sugar and that was plenty of sweetness for my taste. I think the one cup the recipe called for would make a sickeningly sweet sauce (hence the 4 stars instead of 5). When you make your applesauce, start with a small amount, taste and add a bit at a time until your desired sweetness level. I served these with latkes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I never knew applesauce was so delicious until I made it myself! I used Jonathan apples (NOT peeled or cored), filled a 12 quart stockpot, added just a bit of water (half cup?) and just a bit of sugar (half cup?) and sprinkled on the cinnamon. Let it simmer for an hour or two, stirring it down occasionally, then put it through my kitchenaid fruit & veggie strainer, and canned it in a waterbath canner. It's so much better than anything you can buy at the store. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States