Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Basic recipe is good, however, this called for way too much water. I had juicey Melrose apples and only need a quarter of a cup of water. I also cut back on the sugar and added a goodly amount of cinnamon. Because my apples were so tender, I didn't need to run them thru the food processor. A simple mashing with a potato masher did the trick just fine. Great thing to do with all of those apples after a day of apple and pumpkin picking! Thanks Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This sauce came out Excellent!! I took advice from other reviews and used only barely enough water to cover and glad i did. It came out nice and thick, not runny. Also used 1 cup brown sugar in place of 1 cup white and 2 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp apple pie spice. Will make again, can't wait to make this for my Dad next time i go to visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I chopped up a few HUGE Fuji apples, with the skin left on, and threw it into a saucepan. I used less water than the recipe specified, but it still turned out great. I ran the apples through the blender to chop up the peels and it tasted great! I didn't add any sugar as the apples were sweet enough. Yummy and super healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Homemade applesauce is SO good. It's great for using up apples that are going soft. Sometimes I skip the food mill and leave it chunky. Great warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
We love it!! I used Granny Smith and used about 1/2 the amount of sugar..added cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I used half the sugar, but it still came out great! Rivals store bought, but oh, so much better! Everyone loved it and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Very simple. I substituted splenda for sugar and used more cinnamon as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Delicious! My kids could not believe how wonderful this was. I served it with Thanksgiving dinner. It did not take the full three cups of water, just enough to barely cover the apples. I also added cinnamon, which was very tasty. Thank you for sharing this!! It will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KWEEKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmetto, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This was SOOOOO good but I didn't use that much water. I doubled the recipe and probably used 4 cups of water. I also used 4 T. of brown sugar and 2 teas. vanilla, per another reviewer. I also used a potato masher followed by my immersion blender to keep it chunky. I wish I had made MORE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This is a great basic recipe! I left my apples a little chunky for more texture. I also added a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States