Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Not bad. I had to blend the apples in a food processor after cooking to get correct consistency. I did use a little cinnamon and will probably for go that next time, even a small sprinkle turned the apple sauce a brown color and gave it a bit of an over whelming cinnamon flavor. My son loved it but my husband said it was too sweet, almost like a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Delicious... And I usually don't care much for applesauce! I used granny smith apples and because I didn't have enough white sugar, I used a mix of both white and brown sugars, and it turned out amazing! I also added a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg to to the applesauce... And I took the advice of another reviewer and just used one cup water and 1/2 cup sugar.. And mashed the apples with a potato masher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I omit the sugar to make unsweetened applesauce- I use it for my baking =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I've made this many time during the fall when I didn't know what to do with all the apples from our apple tree! I add only about 1 cup of water and 1/2 cup of sugar for the best applesauce ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Really good and easy to make! I've made this with and without sugar, using white and brown sugar and a combo of both. Any way I've made it has been good. You can also throw a bit of cinnamon in there for a bit of a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I did everything the same except that I didn't peel the apples since I like the pinkish color for homemade applesauce. :) It was pretty good, but it wasn't gobbled up right away. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea LaVere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Delicious! I did forget to cook it after running it through the processor. Also, I added sugar to taste and added some cinnamon. It was so good! We ate it plain and with latkes and pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I loved this recipe, It was so easy, the only thing I did differently was put the apples in a bowl of water with the lemon juice so they didn't brown as I was peeling and coring the rest. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
My modifications: used Granny Smith's, no sugar, no water, no lemon juice. Just popped the cooked apples into the blender and pureed. This "naked" applesauce came out just fine - the lemon juice can be added at serving time if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
After reading all the comments about the water, when I made this, last night, I drained the apples and put the cooked chunks in the food processor. I suspect the draining part was left out of the recipe's instructions. I added the juice of half a lemon to the cooking water, and the juice of the other half to the pulp in the processor. I used no sugar and old Granny Smiths. It was wonderful, just like that. Then I tried adding a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to a 1 cup serving, which was also wonderful. So, just drain the cooked apples and forget about the water quantity--just use enough to cover the apples, for simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States