Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Delicious... And I usually don't care much for applesauce! I used granny smith apples and because I didn't have enough white sugar, I used a mix of both white and brown sugars, and it turned out amazing! I also added a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg to to the applesauce... And I took the advice of another reviewer and just used one cup water and 1/2 cup sugar.. And mashed the apples with a potato masher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I omit the sugar to make unsweetened applesauce- I use it for my baking =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I've made this many time during the fall when I didn't know what to do with all the apples from our apple tree! I add only about 1 cup of water and 1/2 cup of sugar for the best applesauce ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Really good and easy to make! I've made this with and without sugar, using white and brown sugar and a combo of both. Any way I've made it has been good. You can also throw a bit of cinnamon in there for a bit of a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I did everything the same except that I didn't peel the apples since I like the pinkish color for homemade applesauce. :) It was pretty good, but it wasn't gobbled up right away. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea LaVere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Delicious! I did forget to cook it after running it through the processor. Also, I added sugar to taste and added some cinnamon. It was so good! We ate it plain and with latkes and pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Green

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I loved this recipe, It was so easy, the only thing I did differently was put the apples in a bowl of water with the lemon juice so they didn't brown as I was peeling and coring the rest. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
My modifications: used Granny Smith's, no sugar, no water, no lemon juice. Just popped the cooked apples into the blender and pureed. This "naked" applesauce came out just fine - the lemon juice can be added at serving time if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
After reading all the comments about the water, when I made this, last night, I drained the apples and put the cooked chunks in the food processor. I suspect the draining part was left out of the recipe's instructions. I added the juice of half a lemon to the cooking water, and the juice of the other half to the pulp in the processor. I used no sugar and old Granny Smiths. It was wonderful, just like that. Then I tried adding a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to a 1 cup serving, which was also wonderful. So, just drain the cooked apples and forget about the water quantity--just use enough to cover the apples, for simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I don't like applesause that much but I made it and it is actually preaty good !!! (I didn't add as much water)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States