Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I much prefer applesauce without all the added sugar. I leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I had six gala apples that needed to be used. Instead of water, I used 1/2 can Gingerale to cook apples (about 1/3/ way up in saucepan. I added 3 packets of Splenda, dash of cloves, 2 tsp. lemon juice, and about 2Tbsp. cinnamon (to taste). I just mashed down and left chunky! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Lee
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Not happy with it as written. Found that brown sugar instead of white and an addition of cinnamon make it more palatable. Also drained my apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Too much work. Save all the work of coring and peeling. I simply quarter apples WITH peel and core, fill crock pot to the top with apples, add 1/2 cup water, let it cook till apples soft. Pour all into apple mill and press through.....best and sweetest applesauce ever and only a tablespoon of seed and skin will be left in the mill. Amazing use of all the apple without any peeling. If you want to add sugar or cinnamon, return to crock pot and season. I cook it down from here to make applebutter also. I also can the applesauce straight from the crock pot when I bring back to a boil. I have apple trees and never peel or core when canning applesauce. Everyone is amazed at how sweet it is without any sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lone Jack, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I followed the suggestions from other reviewers and added a stick of cinnamon to the apples while they where cooking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Excellent! I have been making applesauce using this basic recipe for years though with much less sugar. But save yourself some time and trouble. If you are using a food mill there is no need to peel or core the apples. Just cut into chunks and cut out any bad parts. The seeds etc will not go through the food mill. For variety add cinnamon, or melt some red hot cinnamon candies into the still hot applesauce. Usually no need to put back on the stove if you run through food mill just after boiling. The sugar/candies will melt just fine. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I use a combination of apples with lots of red mackintosh. I core. cut in quarters and leave the skins on, gives the sauce a nice pink color. Strain them after cooking We prefer a bit less sugar. Also add cinnamon. (To taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Very good, but I didn't use that much water or sugar--I cut both in half. I didn't want to strain the apples, and I had Red Delicious, which can be sweet, so I didn't want the applesauce to be too sweet. There's another recipe on here that I tried that I like a bit better because it calls for cinnamon (I LOVE cinnamon), but this is a plain applesauce you can add almost anything too. I had to simmer for another 10-15 minutes to get it to the right mushiness for applesauce. It would be good for recipes since it is so plain. I smoothed it out in the food processor for a lovely applesauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was ok. A part of my family liked it, but some didn't (including me). I think there was too much lemon juice in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
It was awesome. Did not peel the apples, just put them in the Vita-Mix and it was great. Did not use as much sugar as suggested, and rather put in sucanat sugar. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States