Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Perfect for my homemade latkes! I strained some of the water out and used my immersion blender. Cut back a lot on the sugar because the apples I used were super sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I don't know if it was my apples, or if the lemon juice just really comes through in this, but I found it a bit tart. I guess I could have added more sugar, but the taste was a little off. The second time I make this I'm going to do it in the slow cooker without the lemon. UPDATE: I made this a second time in the slow cooker and barely had to add any sugar. I mashed it with a potato masher for a chunky applesauce and added a heavy sprinkling of cinnamon. This is how I'm going to make it from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Excellent & easy recipe to eat right away, freeze or can. For 20 years I've peeled & cored my apples & placed them in microwave w/1/4 Cup of water for 11-12 minutes on HI. Simply remove bowl from oven, mash & add sugar & spices as preferred. We like our sauce on the chunky side. I often toss in a handfull of Red Hots candy in place of sugar & cinnamon. It adds a rosy color. This year I used Honey Crisp apples....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Easy to make and very good. I boiled several granny smith apples until they were translucent. I picked up the apples with a slotted spoon and put them into a bowl. The apples broke apart as I stirred. Added 1/2 cup sugar, lemon juice, and cinnamon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very good and very easy. I only put in 1/2 cup of sugar and about a half tablespoon of cinnamon. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
SKIP the sugar altogether, especially if you're using a sweeter apple. There's no need for any sugar at all. I also use apple cider instead of the water (and cut back on the liquid - 1 cup maximum). It's incredibly easy if you core and peel the apples and put them in a crockpot overnight on low. No stirring, just let it cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great recipe and tastes great! This was super easy and a great way to use up some apples that were on their last leg. I only had 1 lb of apples so I just barely covered with water as the written part of the recipe states and add just a little under a 1/4C of sugar (I just added a few teaspoons of sugar to taste approx. 1/4C) and the juice of 1/2 of a lemon. I also added a couple of cinnamon sticks. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I much prefer applesauce without all the added sugar. I leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I had six gala apples that needed to be used. Instead of water, I used 1/2 can Gingerale to cook apples (about 1/3/ way up in saucepan. I added 3 packets of Splenda, dash of cloves, 2 tsp. lemon juice, and about 2Tbsp. cinnamon (to taste). I just mashed down and left chunky! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Lee
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Not happy with it as written. Found that brown sugar instead of white and an addition of cinnamon make it more palatable. Also drained my apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States