Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
made this today, it was so good and easy to make Like other reviewers I didn't use the full cup of sugar I used 3/4 and added a sprinkle of cinnamon. My kids could not eat it fast enough. I just used a potato masher to break up the apples to the texture I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I made this in my slow cooker, reduced the water to 1/2 cup but otherwise followed the recipe. I didn't spend too much time chopping the apples. I cut them in chunks and mashed them with my potato masher once they were soft. This applesause has a very fresh, clean apple taste. Although I love spices, this recipe is perfect as is. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I'd never made applesauce before. This became my "go to" recipe this fall. We use freshly picked apples of a sweet and tart variety - 8 lbs total. I used my smoothie maker to puree and the consistency was wonderful. I added no sugar, 1/2 tsp each nutmeg & cinnamon and juice of 1/2 a lemon. I also drained the apples and thank those who added that helpful hint. I kept back some of the water, refrigerated it and replaced normal tap water with it to make morning oatmeal and cream of wheat. My kids can't get enough of this applesauce! Thanks for sharing. This was really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This makes a delicious apple sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Monticello, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I love this recipe!! I tripled it to make more at a time and it worked great!! I also left out the cinammon and made regular applesauce and it was awesome!! I highly recommened this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Great basic recipe - I used Empire apples, treated in lemon water to prevent browming, so at first I added no sugar but after cooking and pureeing the apples I found it too tart for my taste buds, never mind my daughter's. So I added half the sugar and it came out perfect - not too sweet, just slightly tart, and very fresh-tasting. I'll probably make a sugarless batch to use in baking, regardless of the apple type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Fantastic recipe! After making the applesauce, I split the finished product and added a little bit of cinnamon to one half. I will definitely be making this recipe all the time...so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Try making this without sugar (or with very little). The natural sweetness of the apples would be enough without adding more. To really make a great applesauce add cinnamon and nutmeg - YUM! I've been doing this for years including when my girls were babies and they've grown up on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
OUTSTANDING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I had no idea applesauce was so easy to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States