Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
This recipe is quick & easy, but too sweet. I halved the amount of sugar. I would also suggest using apple juice or cider as the liquid instead of water and adding cinnamon and a bit of ground cloves or nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
This recipe was very easy. Although the recipe says run through food mill or blender, I whisked the apples while they were cooking, and the sauce turned out smooth. I found there was no need to drain the apples after cooking, because they thickened naturally. I will use this recipe again. I only added about 4 TBSP. of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Tasty and easy. I halved the sugar and should have eliminated even a little more-very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This is a family favorite now. Kids want it everyday in their school lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
I used half the amount of recommended sugar, and it was still really sweet. But it was great otherwise. When I make it again, I will use less sugar. And since this was my first applesauce attempt, I appreciated the tip from a previous review to drain the apples before blending!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
This was my first time making apple sauce. I will never go back to store bought. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
For those of us who are novice enough to need a recipe for applesauce, this one should mention something about straining the apples (saving cooking juices) before processing, and adding back juice as needed for consistency. Otherwise you'll wind up, as I did, with apple soup. I would also reduce amount of sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
Perfect applesauce! Worth the effort. Better than any store-bought brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
This recipe was fabulous!!!!! I'll never buy the pre-made applesauce again. Instead of running the cooked apples through a blender, I mashed them in the pot using a potato masher. By doing this, little chunks of apple were left in the sauce. I also added a bit of cinnamon for a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
I only put in 3/4 of a cup of sugar and it was still too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States