Applesauce Wheat Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
These were great! I used all whole wheat flour. They were surprisingly sweet enough. I had enough to make a dozen muffins. If you are on Weight Watchers, making them this way gives 2 points a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I made a few alterations, but after the alterations, these were THE BEST eggless muffins I've made and among the best muffins of any kind. Instead of applesauce, I used mashed banana. I also added 1/4 cup rice syrup and only 2 Tbsp milk, though I think it would be OK without the syrup. You could also use honey. I used frozen blueberries. I'm so happy to have finally found a good eggless muffin that doesn't use egg replacer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
These were really good. I used 2 cups of wheat flour and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very good recipe. We have egg and milk allergies in my family, and this recipe easily accommodates us because it's eggless and uses oil rather than butter. I used apple juice in place of the milk. I did add about 1/2 cup sugar because my goal wasn't necessarily a really healthy muffin, but I may try to taper that down next time and see how low I can get it. I also used all fresh ground whole wheat flour because that was what I had on hand. My kids loved these muffins. My older ones remember blueberry muffins from the days before their egg-allergic little brother was born, and they're really glad I finally found a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This recipe was great with the following changes: I increased the applesauce to 1 Cup after reading others reviews and used a full cup of frozen blueberries. I always mix the blueberries with the dry ingredients first so they do not clump together and then add the liquid ingredients. The batter is thick so make sure to mix well before putting in muffin cups. The result was 12 delicious, healthy and moist muffins. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Definitely needs some adjusting. I doubled the milk and added an egg and 1/2 C. sugar. Then put in tons of FRESH blueberries, strawberries, and canned peaches. They were truly great. Made a dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These were not bad at all but I did make some changes as did others. I needed a muffin recipe because I was out of eggs this morning, so I was determined to make it work. :) I did double the milk, I used 1 cup of sweetened homemade applesauce, added 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, 1/2 cup of chocolate chips instead of blueberries, simply because I did not have blueberries, and 3/4 tsp. of cinnamon. I had some sliced almonds so I sprinkled the tops with those before baking. They were a wonderful muffin considering it does not have eggs and making those few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariescottage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I added a tablespoon of dried lemon zest, a 1/2 C sugar, 2 T honey, 1 T vanilla extract, and 1 t almond extract. I also used thawed frozen blueberries, and I put it in my kitchen-Aid mixer with the dough hook on speed 4, which really helped with bursting the fruit to increase moisture. I also tampered with the ration of whole wheat to regular flour, and I used Hungarian unbleached flour. I had to lengthen my bake time to 35 minutes. I decided to try this recipe because I am out of eggs right now, and I would have to say that these are a bit more crumbly than with an egg in the mix. My 7 year old taste tester and I think it could use more salt, or some butter. not bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe needs a lot of help!! The version I made would get a 5 star rating but if I had to rate this recipe unaltered I would give it a 3. Here are the ingredients I used. 2 cups all-purpose flour, 1/4 sugar, 3 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup milk, 1/4 cup oil, 1 cup frozen red raspberries. I mixed the raspberries in with the dry ingredients to keep them from sticking together in the wet batter. These muffins are so moist and puffed up nicely. This recipe made 12 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
These needed more moisture. so I added more apple sauce and more milk. A bit if sugar would be good too. I used the motts blueberry/apple-apple sauce. The sweetness comes from around the blueberries, so putting more in is not a bad idea. I WON't be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States