Applesauce Wheat Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
These were really good. I used 2 cups of wheat flour and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
These are not good and they are not sweet. Maybe a half cup of honey would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
These were okay. They have a very "healthy" taste to them. I would add more sugar next time. I used fresh blueberries and they were the ONLY thing that gave these any type of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
I may have done something wrong, but this recipe did not seem to have near enough liquid. I ended up adding more milk and an egg! The finished product had a very nice taste, with plenty of natural sweetness. I wanted a whole grain recipe for my toddler that contained fruit and no added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
I am not the biggest sugar fan -- but these muffins needed some sweetening. I ended up throwing most of them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
These were great! I used all whole wheat flour. They were surprisingly sweet enough. I had enough to make a dozen muffins. If you are on Weight Watchers, making them this way gives 2 points a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
For the sake of the recipe, I made it the way it is entered. Not good. They are dry; more like an unsweetened scone or whole wheat biscut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I pondered this recipe for a while before I decided to make it. I did make some changes to accomodate some of the concerns the reviewers had. I also was a bit skeptical--no eggs? I didn't think this was a vegan recipe, so I added an egg and 1/2 c of sugar. I subbed craisins for the blueberries, and I think they turned out relatively well. They aren't very sweet, even with the sugar, but I think they are relatively tasty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
A little bland, but not bad. I made it into a loaf and treating it more like a fruit bread than muffins. I'd suggest adding some sort of sugar if you want it a bit sweeter. I sprinkled a little brown sugar over the top, and it's pretty good for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I liked the idea of using applesause & wheat flour. I tried the original recipe as is, and it was WAY to dry. I ended up adding an egg, some more milk, and some sugar. They turned out very nice with the modification. I will not make this again. In search of another good healthy blueberry muffin receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States