Applesauce Wheat Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I wanted to try this recipe because it was the only one I could find that used dried blueberries, and that's all I had in the house. After reading what everyone else wrote about the muffins being too dry and not sweet enough, I did add 2 TBS honey, one egg, and 1/2 c extra milk. Without the added milk, the batter was really thick, and I wasn't sure they would bake right. After the added ingredients, these muffins turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Yup,the other reviewers were right. This is a little dry. I always like to make it exactly like the recipe says before I rate it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I did not care for these. I made them true to the recipe. The muffins were dry and without flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I made a few alterations, but after the alterations, these were THE BEST eggless muffins I've made and among the best muffins of any kind. Instead of applesauce, I used mashed banana. I also added 1/4 cup rice syrup and only 2 Tbsp milk, though I think it would be OK without the syrup. You could also use honey. I used frozen blueberries. I'm so happy to have finally found a good eggless muffin that doesn't use egg replacer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Definitely needs some adjusting. I doubled the milk and added an egg and 1/2 C. sugar. Then put in tons of FRESH blueberries, strawberries, and canned peaches. They were truly great. Made a dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I liked the idea of using applesause & wheat flour. I tried the original recipe as is, and it was WAY to dry. I ended up adding an egg, some more milk, and some sugar. They turned out very nice with the modification. I will not make this again. In search of another good healthy blueberry muffin receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
A little bland, but not bad. I made it into a loaf and treating it more like a fruit bread than muffins. I'd suggest adding some sort of sugar if you want it a bit sweeter. I sprinkled a little brown sugar over the top, and it's pretty good for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I pondered this recipe for a while before I decided to make it. I did make some changes to accomodate some of the concerns the reviewers had. I also was a bit skeptical--no eggs? I didn't think this was a vegan recipe, so I added an egg and 1/2 c of sugar. I subbed craisins for the blueberries, and I think they turned out relatively well. They aren't very sweet, even with the sugar, but I think they are relatively tasty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
For the sake of the recipe, I made it the way it is entered. Not good. They are dry; more like an unsweetened scone or whole wheat biscut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
These were great! I used all whole wheat flour. They were surprisingly sweet enough. I had enough to make a dozen muffins. If you are on Weight Watchers, making them this way gives 2 points a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States