Applesauce Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I used sugar-free jello and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Wonderful recipe--made it for the family over the holidays twice! The second time the local stores were out of red hots so I had to use hard candy cinnamon discs-- they worked just as well! It surprised me but I was glad! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is my "sure thing" salad for potlucks. If I don't bring it, people are disappointed. It is very "kid-friendly" but appeals to adults as well. My recipe is slightly different but easy to remember. I use one cup of boiling water, 1 tablespoon of cinnamon candies, 1 package of cherry Jello and 1 can (or the equivalent) of apple sauce. It can be doubled, tripled,...you get the idea! When people ask for the recipe the 1:1:1:1 ratio is easy for them to remember. Lately I've been making it with cinnamon oil, like the kind that flavors hard candy, and that's even easier. It takes a few drops per cup of water. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gothenburg, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
If you like candied apples, you will love this salad! This recipe was excellent - no changes were made. Thanks, Bee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcclusky, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I love this stuff. My mom always made it for us when we were kids. It is also great with out the red hots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Simple, quick & very tasty--makes a great snack! As suggested by another reviewer--it reminds you of candy apples. And the applesauce gives it a pleasing texture too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is the jello salad my mother-in-law made for at least 40 years, and that I've been making for my husband every Christmas and Thanksgiving since I inherited his mom's binder of favorite recipes. He loves it (and the memories it brings) and now my grandchildren have fallen in love with it, too. It goes great with turkey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Could not be any easier. It was a huge hit. It is not, however, the most spectacular looking thing you could bring to an event. Just looks like a bowl of red jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I can't tell you how thrilled I was to find this recipe. I made this about 25 yrs. ago and lost the recipe when my storage unit was broken into and ALL of my wonderful recipe books were stolen. This was and will continue to be a HUGE family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mwilkinson
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I didn't like it at all. It tasted like a candle because of the red hots and applesauce mixed together. The texture was also quite weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States