Applesauce Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I grew up eating this. A few of my daughters and my niece really love this recipe. It is a nice change from plain jello and the fluffy jello salads. I personally don't care for it much, though, but it is easy to make and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Reading previous reviews, I see that people either loved this or hated it. We were certainly in the former group. A very pretty salad, good for a holiday table. The consistency is different from most gelatin salads, but we liked it, and thought the cinnamon taste was perfect. My only suggestion would be to dissolve the candies in boiling water in a mixing bowl, then add the applesauce. Pour it into a mold or serving dish after the ingredients are well blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mwilkinson
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I didn't like it at all. It tasted like a candle because of the red hots and applesauce mixed together. The texture was also quite weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
The Applesauce Salad looked good but the texture and the Cinnamon taste was horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I think the flavor would have been very tasty, but the texture was so bad I couldn't get myself to eat it. The color was great, and it looked very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is the jello salad my mother-in-law made for at least 40 years, and that I've been making for my husband every Christmas and Thanksgiving since I inherited his mom's binder of favorite recipes. He loves it (and the memories it brings) and now my grandchildren have fallen in love with it, too. It goes great with turkey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. My bro-in-law had a suggestion of adding diced apple (maybe a granny smith -great idea for Christmas). Easy to make, something different and yummy gets 5 stars from me every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Took it to a party. Not a hit at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Simple, quick & very tasty--makes a great snack! As suggested by another reviewer--it reminds you of candy apples. And the applesauce gives it a pleasing texture too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I loved this! So easy and so good! I ended up using one 3 oz. package of cherry jello and one of strawberry cause that's what I had on hand. My two year old loved it as well. I'm looking forward to trying it with cool whip on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States