Applesauce Raisin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
First of all, I have to say that I made a lot of modifications. I was looking for a healthy cake/bar with applesauce that we can eat as a family for dessert, and not blow a bunch of calories! This turned out to be a good starting point. I used turbinado sugar (same sweetness as processed, but comes in crystals--still has that molasses flavor, but lighter). We had some leftover cinnamon applesauce, so I used that, and the little bit of extra cinnamon was great. Instead of raisins, I chopped up half of a big gala apple (skin on, important vitamins) and used about a third of a cup of chopped walnuts. I also used 2/3 whole wheat flour, instead of all white. That said, it's a delicious, moist bar with a wonderful flavor, and I think the apples and walnuts make it much more satiating, too. It's also very quick and easy to make, popped it in as I was making lunch. The only reason I didn't put 5 stars, is because I made so many changes and didn't leave it as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
A very nice, cake like texture. Almost like a spice cake. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was I didn't care for the icing. I will make this again but make a different icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
These are a very moist bar. They have a nice flavor. Next time, I think I will just dust with powdered sugar instead of icing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
GREAT-I used 2 egg whites instead of 1 egg -Great tasting and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is good stuff! I'm trying to eat healthier, so made some adjustments. I used 1/3 cup wheat flour, 2/3 cup white. Only used 1/2 cup brown sugar, but next time will use 1/3, because the raisins really make it sweet enough for our taste, even with wheat flour. Also increased the spice, since we like more of a kick: 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp cloves (I don't have or use pumpkin pie spice). I sprinkled 1/2 cup chopped walnuts on top, rather than ice them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I have tons of chunky applesauce in our freezer and always looking for recipes to use it up. This is a winner, I used double the applesauce and added some cinnamon with the pumpkin pie spice. My hubby said to be sure and keep this recipe, it was a home run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
The recipe itself is excellent, altho I plumped the raisins in a saucepan with a little apple juice. Drain well before adding to batter. The icing tastes good, but needs more milk to make it spreadable & also to cover the entire pan. I ended up adding about a treaspoon more milk....do it slowly, maybe 1/2 teaspoon or less at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
32 servings? You're kidding, right? My hubby's idea of a serving is two pieces of about 2x2 inches on top of each other! LOL!!! I wasn't so sure he'd like them, but I wanted them. I did use butter instead of shortening, of course--MUCH healthier, no trans-fats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I had already tried the plain applesauce bars (same recipe as this one except it uses butter instead of shortening) from this site and I thought they would taste even better with nuts or raisins. They indeed do! We really enjoy these bars as an afternoon snack or even as a dessert! I also feel it's impossible to fail... I completely messed up the proportions the second time I made them and they still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
this was ok - nothing extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States