Applesauce Raisin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
Very good bar and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
The recipe itself is excellent, altho I plumped the raisins in a saucepan with a little apple juice. Drain well before adding to batter. The icing tastes good, but needs more milk to make it spreadable & also to cover the entire pan. I ended up adding about a treaspoon more milk....do it slowly, maybe 1/2 teaspoon or less at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I had already tried the plain applesauce bars (same recipe as this one except it uses butter instead of shortening) from this site and I thought they would taste even better with nuts or raisins. They indeed do! We really enjoy these bars as an afternoon snack or even as a dessert! I also feel it's impossible to fail... I completely messed up the proportions the second time I made them and they still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
These are a very moist bar. They have a nice flavor. Next time, I think I will just dust with powdered sugar instead of icing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
A very nice, cake like texture. Almost like a spice cake. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was I didn't care for the icing. I will make this again but make a different icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
GREAT-I used 2 egg whites instead of 1 egg -Great tasting and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
First of all, I have to say that I made a lot of modifications. I was looking for a healthy cake/bar with applesauce that we can eat as a family for dessert, and not blow a bunch of calories! This turned out to be a good starting point. I used turbinado sugar (same sweetness as processed, but comes in crystals--still has that molasses flavor, but lighter). We had some leftover cinnamon applesauce, so I used that, and the little bit of extra cinnamon was great. Instead of raisins, I chopped up half of a big gala apple (skin on, important vitamins) and used about a third of a cup of chopped walnuts. I also used 2/3 whole wheat flour, instead of all white. That said, it's a delicious, moist bar with a wonderful flavor, and I think the apples and walnuts make it much more satiating, too. It's also very quick and easy to make, popped it in as I was making lunch. The only reason I didn't put 5 stars, is because I made so many changes and didn't leave it as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This recipe is fantastic! I made it exactly how the recipe instructed and thought the texture and flavor were absolutely delightful! I also LOVE the icing! I think the key is cooking the butter long enough before adding the rest of the ingredients - YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Very good taste. Much like a cake, but onl one inch high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was really good. I think I will add a bit more spice next time. All the kids(6) liked it afterschool for snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States