Applesauce Raisin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Delicious. I used butter, 1/2 b sugar and whole wheat flour and added a chopped apple too. We skipped the icing and had it for breakfast. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is good stuff! I'm trying to eat healthier, so made some adjustments. I used 1/3 cup wheat flour, 2/3 cup white. Only used 1/2 cup brown sugar, but next time will use 1/3, because the raisins really make it sweet enough for our taste, even with wheat flour. Also increased the spice, since we like more of a kick: 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp cloves (I don't have or use pumpkin pie spice). I sprinkled 1/2 cup chopped walnuts on top, rather than ice them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
this was ok - nothing extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I have tons of chunky applesauce in our freezer and always looking for recipes to use it up. This is a winner, I used double the applesauce and added some cinnamon with the pumpkin pie spice. My hubby said to be sure and keep this recipe, it was a home run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Really good, although next time I will add a tiny bit more milk to the icing so it spreads easier. My 8 year old is on a raisin hating kick so he said they're just so-so and only ate one, but my husband says I have to make these every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
32 servings? You're kidding, right? My hubby's idea of a serving is two pieces of about 2x2 inches on top of each other! LOL!!! I wasn't so sure he'd like them, but I wanted them. I did use butter instead of shortening, of course--MUCH healthier, no trans-fats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was really good. I think I will add a bit more spice next time. All the kids(6) liked it afterschool for snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Very good taste. Much like a cake, but onl one inch high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This recipe is fantastic! I made it exactly how the recipe instructed and thought the texture and flavor were absolutely delightful! I also LOVE the icing! I think the key is cooking the butter long enough before adding the rest of the ingredients - YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
First of all, I have to say that I made a lot of modifications. I was looking for a healthy cake/bar with applesauce that we can eat as a family for dessert, and not blow a bunch of calories! This turned out to be a good starting point. I used turbinado sugar (same sweetness as processed, but comes in crystals--still has that molasses flavor, but lighter). We had some leftover cinnamon applesauce, so I used that, and the little bit of extra cinnamon was great. Instead of raisins, I chopped up half of a big gala apple (skin on, important vitamins) and used about a third of a cup of chopped walnuts. I also used 2/3 whole wheat flour, instead of all white. That said, it's a delicious, moist bar with a wonderful flavor, and I think the apples and walnuts make it much more satiating, too. It's also very quick and easy to make, popped it in as I was making lunch. The only reason I didn't put 5 stars, is because I made so many changes and didn't leave it as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States