Applesauce Raisin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Delicious. I used butter, 1/2 b sugar and whole wheat flour and added a chopped apple too. We skipped the icing and had it for breakfast. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is good stuff! I'm trying to eat healthier, so made some adjustments. I used 1/3 cup wheat flour, 2/3 cup white. Only used 1/2 cup brown sugar, but next time will use 1/3, because the raisins really make it sweet enough for our taste, even with wheat flour. Also increased the spice, since we like more of a kick: 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp cloves (I don't have or use pumpkin pie spice). I sprinkled 1/2 cup chopped walnuts on top, rather than ice them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
this was ok - nothing extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I have tons of chunky applesauce in our freezer and always looking for recipes to use it up. This is a winner, I used double the applesauce and added some cinnamon with the pumpkin pie spice. My hubby said to be sure and keep this recipe, it was a home run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Really good, although next time I will add a tiny bit more milk to the icing so it spreads easier. My 8 year old is on a raisin hating kick so he said they're just so-so and only ate one, but my husband says I have to make these every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
32 servings? You're kidding, right? My hubby's idea of a serving is two pieces of about 2x2 inches on top of each other! LOL!!! I wasn't so sure he'd like them, but I wanted them. I did use butter instead of shortening, of course--MUCH healthier, no trans-fats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was really good. I think I will add a bit more spice next time. All the kids(6) liked it afterschool for snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Very good taste. Much like a cake, but onl one inch high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This recipe is fantastic! I made it exactly how the recipe instructed and thought the texture and flavor were absolutely delightful! I also LOVE the icing! I think the key is cooking the butter long enough before adding the rest of the ingredients - YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
First of all, I have to say that I made a lot of modifications. I was looking for a healthy cake/bar with applesauce that we can eat as a family for dessert, and not blow a bunch of calories! This turned out to be a good starting point. I used turbinado sugar (same sweetness as processed, but comes in crystals--still has that molasses flavor, but lighter). We had some leftover cinnamon applesauce, so I used that, and the little bit of extra cinnamon was great. Instead of raisins, I chopped up half of a big gala apple (skin on, important vitamins) and used about a third of a cup of chopped walnuts. I also used 2/3 whole wheat flour, instead of all white. That said, it's a delicious, moist bar with a wonderful flavor, and I think the apples and walnuts make it much more satiating, too. It's also very quick and easy to make, popped it in as I was making lunch. The only reason I didn't put 5 stars, is because I made so many changes and didn't leave it as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States