Applesauce Raisin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tammie
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Did this without the icing and use butter instead of shortening...so good and moist. Also since I doubled it ended up cooking at 350 for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Delicious. I used butter, 1/2 b sugar and whole wheat flour and added a chopped apple too. We skipped the icing and had it for breakfast. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is good stuff! I'm trying to eat healthier, so made some adjustments. I used 1/3 cup wheat flour, 2/3 cup white. Only used 1/2 cup brown sugar, but next time will use 1/3, because the raisins really make it sweet enough for our taste, even with wheat flour. Also increased the spice, since we like more of a kick: 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp cloves (I don't have or use pumpkin pie spice). I sprinkled 1/2 cup chopped walnuts on top, rather than ice them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
this was ok - nothing extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I have tons of chunky applesauce in our freezer and always looking for recipes to use it up. This is a winner, I used double the applesauce and added some cinnamon with the pumpkin pie spice. My hubby said to be sure and keep this recipe, it was a home run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Really good, although next time I will add a tiny bit more milk to the icing so it spreads easier. My 8 year old is on a raisin hating kick so he said they're just so-so and only ate one, but my husband says I have to make these every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
32 servings? You're kidding, right? My hubby's idea of a serving is two pieces of about 2x2 inches on top of each other! LOL!!! I wasn't so sure he'd like them, but I wanted them. I did use butter instead of shortening, of course--MUCH healthier, no trans-fats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was really good. I think I will add a bit more spice next time. All the kids(6) liked it afterschool for snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Very good taste. Much like a cake, but onl one inch high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This recipe is fantastic! I made it exactly how the recipe instructed and thought the texture and flavor were absolutely delightful! I also LOVE the icing! I think the key is cooking the butter long enough before adding the rest of the ingredients - YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States