Applesauce Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I absolutely loved this recipe, and my picky husband did too, I did alter the recipie, by using whole wheat flour, and 1/3 cup honey instead of the sugar along with adding extra cinnamon, some nutmeg, and vanilla. If you are looking for a very sweet cookie try using the full 2/3 c honey as honey is sweeter that the sugar. Or as a fun treat cut up apple chunks and mix in to the batter also!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
These are def. for healthy homes. They were quite delicious, soft and chewy just the way a cookie is supposed to be. I only changed a few things. I actually added a little extra cinnamon, and chocolate chips. My 6 yr. old picky boy and my 19 month old loved them. Very good and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This a pretty good recipe with a little modificattion. You DEFINITELY need to add a bit more flavor- 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tspn salt, 2 tspns of cinnamon and I added a pinch of nutmeg(1/4 tspn)and some raisins. They turned out tasty and wholesome. I also substituted a bit of the butter for plain yogurt to reduce the fat further and used 1/2 whole wheat flour. I think if you want to you could even reduce the sugar just a little too. Good recipe as healthy alternative without losing flavor (if you remember these modifications above :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I added 1/3 c white sugar, doubled the oatmeal, added 2 mashed bananas and a handful of left over choc chips plus caramel extract & 1/2 c chopped almonds. They are more cake like but that's ok. The changes above seemed to add that missing extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksHarleyBrat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
these came out awesome. I used wheat flour, and also added 1/4 cup of chopped mixed nuts. they turned out great. the perfect snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I did not make this exactly as instructed so I don't know how they taste if the ingredients are followed exactly. I use natural no sugar added applesauce so I added a 1/3 cup of white sugar and I added a 1/4 tsp of vanilla.There were a few reviews that said the cookies were dry, but I thought they were very soft and moist.I also added a handful of walnuts and a handful of mini semi sweet chocolate chips. They are also quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
these cookies are soo good! I added 1/4cup of craisins YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Still baking these as we speak- I tried a couple from the first batch, and they are pretty good considering they are healthy and more wholesome than your typical sugary cookie. Due to the high volume of "tweakers," I took the recommendations and added 1 tsp of vanilla and more cinnamon. I used whole wheat flour and a tad bit more applesauce. I added some flaxseed to make these even more healthy, and I even added some chopped canned peaches for a fruity kick. As many people said, these definitely came out cakey, but they are still good and a great alternative to a high-fat, high sugary cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsButtery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
these cookies didn't have much flavor. They needed more sugar maybe because my applesauce was unsweetened. However they still tasted doughy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
AMAZING cookies!!! They were gone in a DAY!!! The only difference i made was adding vanilla to the batter. Oh, and raisens. Theyre to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States