Applesauce Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This cake is a very "heavy" cake. Probably one of the worst recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This recipe is awesome... I work at the county jail & have calculated it to feed 200 people. We use a little less on the nutmeg & cloves as they can be overpowering & we do not have nuts or raisins available to us, but it still comes out fantastic! We have used both whipped cream & a light powder sugar glaze for topping & both were great. Lots of great complements when we serve this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Awesome recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, however, I baked the batter in three loaf pans. This lowered the cooking time (to about 40 minutes) and enabled me to gift some cake to friends and family. This is definitely a keeper!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I found this rather disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Brilliant recipe, I too was worried about the tablespoon of baking powder, but it works great! In the UK you can't buy jars of applesauce so I made some from Bramley Apples, worked a treat, moist, tasty and got lots of compliments at church!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Very good moist cake and very close to what I made for special "MAN" birthdays years ago. I had lost the recipe and now will use this one, thanks. I made this in two 8" rounds with cream cheese frosting for my son's 31st birthday, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
There isn't a thing about this recipe that I would change. Even thought a few of the proportions seemed unusual, I went ahead and trusted the recipe and I'm glad I did. The creator of this recipe definitely means to use 1 Tbl. baking powder and 3/4 tsp. cloves! Don't be afraid! The cake turned out really moist, flavorful and dense, as a good snack cake should be. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I usually don't like it when people review a recipe after having made a ton of changes to it, but this time I must. This is a great recipe as is, but today at work, I adapted it to include some chopped apples and some leftover oatmeal from breakfast. We were short on butter so I substituted shortening, we were short on raisins so I added some chopped apples as well, and I wanted to use up the leftover oatmeal so I reduced the amount of milk and applesauce and dumped the leftovers in. The cake is nice and heavy, moist and spicy, and really smelled wonderful baking. It tastes delicious warm from the oven, and I'm willing to bet it will be delicious cold, too. Oh, and I only used 1 teaspoon, rather than 1 Tablespoon, of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I agree with the person who said that it tasted a little too much like baking powder. It still had a very good flavor, but I did sort of keep noticing the baking powder. I'm not sure what would happen if you used less though. I used half wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is really a wonderful recipe!! Moist and full of flavor. Doesn't need frosting at all. It's very much like banana bread but much lighter in texture. Melt in your mouth good!! I didn't change a thing. I baked it at 325 (I used my convection oven) for 60 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States