Applesauce Oatie Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
These cookies are sooooooooo good! my whole family likes them. There my dad's new favorite cookie. Here's a little tip...after baking these cookies for the first time...I found that after baking 10 minutes...the edges are brown....but the middle isn't done...i just keep them in for 3 more minutes, and they turn out even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Delish! I modified a little to make a bit more healthy of a snack for my 18 mo old twins, and used 1/2 c reg flour and 1 c whole wheat flour. Used 1/2 tsp additional cinnamon, a little vanilla, about a spoon full of vanilla yogurt (I thought it looked a little dry), and left out the chocolate chips, nuts, and raisins. A keeper recipe. *edit* Just made these with a small chopped up apple (about a cup).. it is a wonderful replacement if you don't use raisins. I also added a dash or two of cloves.. these are still one of my favorites to bake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
These cookies were so good! We're trying to make healthier desserts and had tried substituting applesauce for some of the butter in other recipes and ended up with dense, cake-like cookies--with more calories than these cookies. These were crisp and chewy, delicious cookies and the spices in them were just right. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I made a few changes. Cut out the white sugar and used 1/4 cup honey. Used organic butter. Decreased salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Added 1/4 cup ground flax seed to flour mixture. Added 1/2 grated apple and decreased applesauce to 1/2 cup. Added 1 teaspoon Double Strength Vanilla. Baked at 350 for about 10 minutes. Stored overnight in air tight container and they were even better the second day. My boyfriend really liked them and he is a sugar hound, so this was a big change. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Holy cow! I have never rated a recipe on here in my life, but I had to rate this one! SO yummy- just what we were looking for. I made the recipe exactly as written- delicious- and now look forward to trying the variations that others have mentioned. Try these!! Today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These were fabulous! I used 1 cup of finely chopped apples in place of the applesauce and omitted the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Love this recipe because it only uses 1/2 cup butter unlike the usual 1 cup. It also combines my two favorite cookies, oatmeal raisin and chocolate chip. My husband and I ate almost the entire batch the evening that I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
can I give it 10 stars? I only used milk chocolate chips but one of the best cookies I've ever made. Every single cookie was gone in less than 20 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali1031

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
They tasted good but came out so thin and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deet31483

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Yum-eee! These are more cake-like than most cookies, but that doesn't matter to us. I leave out the white sugar completely, since it's plenty sweet with the brown sugar, applesauce, raisins, and chocolate. I also used half whole wheat and half white flour (3/4 cups of each). These are tasty treats that my kids love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States