Applesauce-Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This recipe is a great idea for the health conscience (like myself). I would make one minor suggestion though (for those who like cinnamon), I would add a full teaspoon of cinnamon, rather than the 1/8th. The extra cinnamon gives the muffins a nice sweetness. Personally, the original recipe isn't sweet enough for me, but the full teaspoon of cinnamon makes it perfect. Lastly, I know cooking times do vary based upon location and glassware/cookware, but it took a full 30 mins for the centers of the muffins to be cooked fully (rather than the 20 mins suggested). P.S. The topping is soo yummy and sweet (must be the full tablespoon of cinnamon ;-) I could eat the topping just like that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I thought these were really good. I increased the cinnamon to a 1/2 tsp; I think next time I will add even more. I added a cup of diced apple and just for a little extra fiber I cut back on the flour and added about an 1/8 C of ground flax seed. They turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
These turned out really well. I followed the recipe exactly, with the substitution of 1 cup whole wheat flour, and the rest AP,and a bit more cinnamon. When adding the topping it would be helpful to press it in to the batter a bit, as a lot of mine fell off while removing muffins from tin. These are tasty, but a touch plain. They are good as is, or would be the perfect base for any dried fruit (i like craisins), shredded coconut, fresh berries, more spices, or pineapple. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
You can use regular oats--no problem. I just made these and all I have are Old Fashioned Oats and they turned out just fine. I also used 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1/4 cup flax seed meal and I went a head and used the whole egg because I felt like it. (I would rather eat whole grains and have a little fat then white flour. I also greesed the muffin pan since another reviewer said the papers stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Oh My Lord these are amazing muffins! It's hard to find muffins that are healthy, yet actually taste good. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PianoGirl1982

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Delicious! I used brummel and brown spread in place of the butter, and changed the amount of cinnamon in the batter. Per previous reviews, upped the amount of cinnamon to 1 Tbsp. It is the perfect amount, to me anyway. Were done in about 25 min. I think they're better while warm, maybe with some milk or cream poured over. It is a simple, quick recipe. Reminds me of apple-cinnamon oatmeal, and had the idea next time to use that instant oatmeal, in the packets...with the little apple bits, or to even chop up some apple next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
As with other reviewers, I added a teaspoon of cinnamon, as well as some nutmeg and 1/4 t salt. I also replaced 3/4 C of the flour with wheat flour. Still very moist and yummy, and the topping is absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These were very good and healthy. I recommend using a greased pan instead of paper liners; there is so little fat that they really stick to the paper. Will definitely make again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Very good! I make them for those quick mornings that I'm on the go! Just put'em in the freezer and grab as you go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Made these for my 9 yr old daughter for a quick breakfast. She loves them with a glass of milk and a banana. Great for grab and go healthy breakfast. I froze half of the batch. Added walnuts to half also. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Shelton Frazier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States