Applesauce-Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Just so so - ok if you are looking for low fat but would be much better if you used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. I'd up the brown sugar too in the muffin batter to 3/4 cup. Definitely use more than 1/8 tsp. cinnamon. I'd add some vanilla too. I think instead of milk plain yogurt or buttermilk would be better.Chopped up apples would be a good addition. 20 minutes was ample time to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
While the muffins I made were quite moist, I felt they were way too bland and had little flavor. Sorry, I wanted so badly to love them, but they just didn't "wow" me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
You can use regular oats--no problem. I just made these and all I have are Old Fashioned Oats and they turned out just fine. I also used 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1/4 cup flax seed meal and I went a head and used the whole egg because I felt like it. (I would rather eat whole grains and have a little fat then white flour. I also greesed the muffin pan since another reviewer said the papers stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I made this for my daughter's 1st grade class, and found them way too dry... The kids only took one bite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint-Dizier, Champagne-Ardenne, France
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Made these for my 9 yr old daughter for a quick breakfast. She loves them with a glass of milk and a banana. Great for grab and go healthy breakfast. I froze half of the batch. Added walnuts to half also. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Shelton Frazier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
As with other reviewers, I added a teaspoon of cinnamon, as well as some nutmeg and 1/4 t salt. I also replaced 3/4 C of the flour with wheat flour. Still very moist and yummy, and the topping is absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These were very good and healthy. I recommend using a greased pan instead of paper liners; there is so little fat that they really stick to the paper. Will definitely make again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I thought these were really good. I increased the cinnamon to a 1/2 tsp; I think next time I will add even more. I added a cup of diced apple and just for a little extra fiber I cut back on the flour and added about an 1/8 C of ground flax seed. They turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheila
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I sprinkled cinnamon on top before baking. Thought these were a bit dry, cooked exactly 20 minutes. They were super easy and I had all ingredients on hand so I give them a 4. The lovely photo you see is my 1st photo upload. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Very good muffin. Easy to make. I substituted the flour with whole-wheat flour and used at least a full tsp. of cinnamon. I've got them bagged up and frozen and take out one or two a day for lunch/breakfast. And they are better when they are served warm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States