Applesauce-Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
You can use regular oats--no problem. I just made these and all I have are Old Fashioned Oats and they turned out just fine. I also used 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1/4 cup flax seed meal and I went a head and used the whole egg because I felt like it. (I would rather eat whole grains and have a little fat then white flour. I also greesed the muffin pan since another reviewer said the papers stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I made this for my daughter's 1st grade class, and found them way too dry... The kids only took one bite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint-Dizier, Champagne-Ardenne, France
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Made these for my 9 yr old daughter for a quick breakfast. She loves them with a glass of milk and a banana. Great for grab and go healthy breakfast. I froze half of the batch. Added walnuts to half also. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
As with other reviewers, I added a teaspoon of cinnamon, as well as some nutmeg and 1/4 t salt. I also replaced 3/4 C of the flour with wheat flour. Still very moist and yummy, and the topping is absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These were very good and healthy. I recommend using a greased pan instead of paper liners; there is so little fat that they really stick to the paper. Will definitely make again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I thought these were really good. I increased the cinnamon to a 1/2 tsp; I think next time I will add even more. I added a cup of diced apple and just for a little extra fiber I cut back on the flour and added about an 1/8 C of ground flax seed. They turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheila
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I sprinkled cinnamon on top before baking. Thought these were a bit dry, cooked exactly 20 minutes. They were super easy and I had all ingredients on hand so I give them a 4. The lovely photo you see is my 1st photo upload. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Very good muffin. Easy to make. I substituted the flour with whole-wheat flour and used at least a full tsp. of cinnamon. I've got them bagged up and frozen and take out one or two a day for lunch/breakfast. And they are better when they are served warm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
EASY and yummy! For a non-cook like myself, I was happy to find that this was such a simple recipe. The second batch I made I added a little white sugar to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Delicious! I used brummel and brown spread in place of the butter, and changed the amount of cinnamon in the batter. Per previous reviews, upped the amount of cinnamon to 1 Tbsp. It is the perfect amount, to me anyway. Were done in about 25 min. I think they're better while warm, maybe with some milk or cream poured over. It is a simple, quick recipe. Reminds me of apple-cinnamon oatmeal, and had the idea next time to use that instant oatmeal, in the packets...with the little apple bits, or to even chop up some apple next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States