Applesauce Noodle Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I brought this to a Yom Kippur break fast and people couldn't get enough! As suggested, I cut the sugar and used unsweetened apple sauce. My only complaint was the graham cracker crust turned a bit soggy--perhaps something else would have been better texture-wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
very good - i used butter instead of margarine and cut it in half - should read melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I am new at making kugels, however, I would definitely do this one a little differently next time. I would skip on the sugar. I did not add as much as the recipe called for and it was still too sweet. The applesauce and cinnamon would be enough sweetner if you are like me and not the hugest fan of sugary foods. It smelled really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
My husband really liked this a lot. I thought it was a bit too sweet. We used sweetened applesauce because I had it on hand, but next time I'll try with unsweetened, and maybe less sugar. A good recipe though, held together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Awesome Kugle. My family doesnt like raisins so, I left them out and added some small apple chuncks. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I have made this "full fat and calories" for the past 3 Holiday seasons. It is by FAR..the BEST and the recipe I am most asked for. I use more cinnamon and a thicker graham gracker bottom. Enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I made this part of holiday dinner and everyone loved it, including me. I'm my biggest critic. Though I did leave out the raisins, I'm not crazy about raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This was pretty good. I thought it was more dinner recipe but it was VERY dessert style. It was super yummie. I then substituted some butter and cream cheese for lowfat alternatives and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I have never liked noodle puddings, but a favor to my mother inspired me to try this recipe - success! She called it the "best kugel I have ever had in my entire life." I still don't like most kugels, but this has become one of my favorite year-round dishes. I use only 1 C sugar, 8 oz of chunky applesauce, soaked sultanas (golden raisins), and no graham crackers crumbs. It is far less sweet and creamy than most kugels this way, and it really emphasises the appley-cinnamon flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Just not our cup of tea. Won't be making again. The kids' questioned what it was and only ate one piece of noodle. Not that it was horrible, it was just not that great, though I am sure some people are wowed by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States