Applesauce Noodle Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I get asked every year for this recipe, everone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAELIE24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made a lot of changes and it still turned out great! Instead of applesauce (long story), I used one granny smith cut up, but two would be better. Also, I substituted 3 eggs for the egg mixture and only used 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup butter. I did not add raisins or crumbs, but might next time. Therefore, it was not too sweet. It didn't burn at all --loved it! I plan to make it again very soon for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Tried this for the first time and it was excellent. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Very very good. Based on suggestions here, I've made this a couple times with some modifications. First thing I changed was to bake the graham cracker crumbs on TOP (moistened with margarine or butter that I already melted from what the recipe calls for) during the last 15 minutes or so in the oven. I agree that the sugar needs to be cut (I used regular applesauce though, not unsweetened) to either 1 1/2 cups or less depending on how your family likes it. I've also substituted the sour cream with soy milk with good results to make the recipe dairy free. All that said, this is really a great recipe, the flavors of the apple, cinnamon, graham cracker, and raisin (if you like raisin) come together so well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I love this Kugel recipe! I have made it several times.. I don't make it quite as light, but still fairly light. I don't do the graham cracker crumbs at all. I do sprinkle a lot of cinnamon sugar on top and it is wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This turned out very nicely. I used 1/2 cup of real butter(margarine is terrible for you), 1/2 cup less sugar, used 1/4 cup more reduced fat sour cream, used chunky spiced applesauce from trader joes, softened the raisin in the boiling water with the noodles, and used almost a cup of graham cracker powder and 1 tsp cinnamon mixed with 4 table spoons of melted butter and sprinkled that mixture on the top instead of on the bottom. I baked for 50 minutes. Next time I might even cut the sugar some more. I think the graham cracker "crust" prevented the noodles from getting dry and burnt. The crust was a nice golden brown - no burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Absolutely the BEST noodle kugel ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
A friend from work just lost her mother. I had never been to a Shiva (I am Catholic) and I wanted to bring something special for her. I made this Kugel. I changed it a bit too by using one stick of butter instead of margerine, 6 eggs, 1 cup of sugar and the chunky, regular sour cream and sweetened applesauce. I was nervous as I had never made it but took the shot and my friend and her family and friends absolutely loved it and even asked for the recipe! I was very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POLARBEE
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Though I ended up not using the low fat products, I have to say this was one of the best kugels I've had. Made it with brisket and it was a perfect compliment. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Everyone raved about this dish. Never made it before and it was really good! I only used 1 cup of sugar and no raisins. I couldn't imagine 2 cups of sugar-- it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States