Applesauce Noodle Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Left out the Raisins, but this was a hit and we made it for Hanukkah and again for Christmas Dinner too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This got a thumbs up from dh! I made the following changes as per other reviewers: 1. used 3/4c. red fat sour cream 2. reduced the sugar to 1 cup (reviewer said 1 1/4c, maybe less next time - it came out perfect this way) 3. used 3/4 c graham cracker crumbs (reviewer used 1 c.) and added my own changes as follows: 1. used crasins instead of the rasins 2. used 6 omega-3 eggs instead of the substitute 3. used juice from half a lime (didn't have lemon juice on hand) I also boiled the crasins with the noodles, as per a previous review, as well as put the crust mixture on top instead of below. was really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Wonderful. This has now become a family tradition we make it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
My first try at this is in the oven now, but I couldn't help reviewing it since the "pudding" tasted so good. I made the following changes: 1 and 1/2 stick melted butter, 1/2 cup yogurt (since my husband hates sour cream), 6 real eggs, 1 1/2 cup sugar, about half of a 24oz jar of cinnamon applesauce, and added 1tsp cinnamon extract and nutmeg (along with the vanilla and lemon juice.) Next time I will probably cut down on the sugar even more since it was still very sweet this way (but still very good.) I forgot to add the raisins -- oops. Next time. Also used far more than 1/4c cracker crumbs. I used 1 entire pouch of graham crackers that I crushed by hand. Sprinkled about 3/4 of that on the bottom of the pan and the rest on top. This also made a TON. Next time I will probably half it, especially if I was just making it for a few people. Edit: This did not come out as well as I thought it would. The top got very dried out and was hard to eat since the noodles got crunchy, even with the cracker crumbs on top. It also didn't have a lot of flavor. The "pudding" alone was quite good but with as many noodles as you use, it becomes much less flavorful. If I make it again, I would use less noodles, more applesauce and spices, and perhaps some fresh apple slices to up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
EXCELLENT. AS OTHERS SUGGESTED DECEASED SUGAR TO 1 CUP USED REGULAR APPLESAUCE. PLENTY SWEET ENOUGH.DIDN'T INCLUDE RAISINS BECAUSE NOT A FAN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Awesome. First kugel and brilliant there is no cheese! Replacements: 1 cup of sugar (instead of 2) 8 oz of unsalted butter, instead of 16 oz of marg Craisins, instead if raisins Matzah Meal instead of graham crackers. Yummy, yuumy, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
We used eggs instead of egg substitute, & we've cooked it w/ & w/out the graham crackers, & we like it better without. It's too sweet with the graham crackers. We also add more raisins. We really like this kugel, and have cooked it many times. Only gave 4 stars because we didn't like it with the graham crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is an amazing dessert! My family ate it right out of the oven..it didn't even get to cool off I had to make a second one right away! A definate family and friend favorite Smells wonderful while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I get asked every year for this recipe, everone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAELIE24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made a lot of changes and it still turned out great! Instead of applesauce (long story), I used one granny smith cut up, but two would be better. Also, I substituted 3 eggs for the egg mixture and only used 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup butter. I did not add raisins or crumbs, but might next time. Therefore, it was not too sweet. It didn't burn at all --loved it! I plan to make it again very soon for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States