Applesauce Noodle Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
it is excellent . i cut the sugar down to only 1cup and used SPlenda instead of sugar and no one knew. Everyone loved it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This recipe wowed everyone at our Rosh Hashanah lunch, and I've already been asked to make it for break fast. It is officially one of our family's new traditions. One note: the recipe was ambiguous about how much apple sauce to add, so I added 16 ounces. Also, I used lots more graham crackers, and used cinnamon ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
I THOUGHT THIS RECIPE WAS VERY GOOD. I DID CUT BACK ON THE SUGAR TO 1 1/4 CUPS. USED 1/2 C REAL BUTTER AND USED "LITE" SOUR CREAM. AT FIRST I WAS CONFUSED ON THE APPLE SAUCE? RECIPES SHOULD READ... 1 CUP! ie; 8 OZ. ie; 1/2 16 0Z JAR. OH WELL, HAPPY COOKING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
I love this recipe, but I agree it's a little too sweet. I cut down on the sugar by a 1/4 cup and also used "natural" (unsweetened) applesauce. It's usually a little chunky, which adds texture. Also, I used golden raisins that have been soaked in water so they're not so dry. Thank you for clarifying the "1/2 (16 oz) jar applesauce" part- that was a little confusing! I brought this to work for an international food themed party and I was getting requests for the recipe left and right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
EXCELLENT! I CUT BACK ON THE MARGARINE AND SOUR CREAM AND ADDED CREAM CHEESE IN ITS PLACE. I ALSO ADDED THE RAISINS TO THE NOODLES WHILE THEY WERE COOKING, THIS MADE THEM NICE AND SOFT AND PLUMP!I ALSO USED SPLENDA IN PLACE OF THE SUGAR, NEXT TIME I WILL CUT BACK THE "SUGAR" BY 1/2 CUP. EXCELLENT DISH FOR BRUNCH OR POT LUCK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I made this (last minute) for an office event. It was so easy and everyone loved it! Several people asked for the recipe and were thrilled to find out it was low fat! I brought the leftovers home and shared them with some Jewish friends and they loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
AMAZING amazing!! it was absolutely fantastic! everyone LOVED it! my one regret was that i didn't have enough room left after dinner to eat as much as i would have liked! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I made this for the first night of Hanukkah and everyone (including our non-Jewish guest) loved it! It was a little sweeter than I would prefer so I would use less sugar when I made it again. Overall a good dish and healthier because of the egg substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
When I made this recipe I made a couple mistakes so I don't know how that affected the final outcome. The one thing I did not like was how the "sauce" settled during baking so I had noodles on top that had nothing on them. I will try this recipe again making sure I follow the recipe and try to find a way to remedy the naked noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I really enjoyed this recipe. I even read the recipe wrong, added twice the applesauce it called for and it still came out great! Why not just say 8oz of applesauce instead of 1/2 of a 16oz jar? (I used REAL butter and eggs too.) Anyway, try this recipe it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States