Applesauce French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Took the advice of many others - don't soak, just dip the bread (to avoid sogginess). Used a little less milk and used cinnamon applesauce. OMG - my boyfriend and I loved these this past Sat. morning! These will go into my regular french toast rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Ordinary french toast, but it is nice and moist. Just don't let the bread sit too long - and you must use good bread, not just "Wonder Bread".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Very yummy and moist french toast - We didn't even need any butter! I had cinnamon applesauce, so we used that, and I substituted pumpkin pie spice for plain ground cinnamon, which was very tasty. I must agree that this recipe makes more than six slices of french toast - I think I made 10 slices before running out of liquid, so plan accordingly. Also, be aware that the high sugar content of the batter makes it susceptible to burning, so keep a very close eye on the cooking toast; I found that medium heat worked best for me. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
We love this recipe. Very tasty. Works with pancakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
came out a little soggy, but powdered sugar to the rescue!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
We loved this version of french toast! It turned out very well for us! I used 1/3 cup evaporated milk (only because I had some leftover in the fridge that I wanted to use up). We really liked everything about about these! Unlike other complaints, they weren't soggy at all. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Great recipe! My whole family loved it, even my picky 3 year old! Using fat free milk also lowers the fat per serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Good, but too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
This recipe doesn't taste much different than regular French toast but it is a lot moister. Next time, I think I will try it with apple butter instead of syrup. The batter was easier to use and a lot less "eggy" than the traditional batter. Since other reviews complained about sogginess, I reduced the milk to 1/4 cup. It was the perfect consistency for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
it was great!! i used frozened bread and it didn't come out soggy at all! moist and kind of chew.. it was really easy, and is definately a 'must make again' thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States