Applesauce French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
My 3 kid's loved this recipe. It is now our standard French Toast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
We didn't have any applesauce so I used pureed pears (baby food) and this still came out delicious. Even my toddler asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This french toast was very tasty however it was a little to mushy for my taste. My little one didn't like the texture, so she wouldn't eat it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I thought this was a great, EASY recipe for French Toast. The applesauce makes it moist with just a hint of its flavor (I also use applesauce in my cake recipes because it makes them moist without having to use a lot of oils).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
MMM. Very good. I did not taste the apple. Next time I will add more applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This was pretty good! I read over some suggestions & reduced the milk to 1/2 cup & that worked nicely. I used lite cinnamon applesauce & had no problem with the bread being soggy. Next time I'm going to increase the cinnamon as the taste wasn't as strong as I prefer. I also used Splenda & whole wheat bread. Overall, a great recipe & thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
made this for dinner with some quick-browned sausage patties, and it was perfect -- not soggy, and just the right amount of dipping mixture. the only thing i changed is that i added a bit of nutmeg to the egg mixture. wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
wow, this french toast is just fantastic! i followed the recipe as written, using natural applesauce & thick cut, day old challah bread. i like to fry mine until well browned then put it on a rack in a 250 degree oven for 5 - 10 minutes. that helps to firm it up a bit. we served this with maple syrup & sauteed apples. what a treat! thank you joan, i wish i'd found this recipe earlier. you should've put it under the brunch category instead of in the bread category. thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Found this to be quite delicious! I used soy milk and fresh multigrain bread. My one piece of advice - the more soft/fresh the bread is - the less you want to soak the bread! My first slice broke in half because it was too weighed down by the heavy mixture - VERY moist. But I salvaged it in the pan, and it came out great. Served with warmed maple syrup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I thought this turned out wonderfully. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States