Applesauce Drop Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Tasty! I've used other doughnut recipes on this site and they seemed to be a little bland. I'm so happy I found this one. These had just the right amounts of cinnamon and nutmeg. As suggested previously, be sure to keep the drops very small. I rolled them in powdered sugar and cinnamon. An awesome treat highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FluffyStuff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Ohhh...my house smells amazing, like the donut stands at the fair! I used a pan with oil on my stove, with the temperature alternating between medium and one notch below medium (I have copper bottomed that hold heat). As other reviewers have said, keep the spoonfuls of batter SMALL. I was using about 1/2 teaspoonful, as the batter puffs up when it hits oil. Thanks for a delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
These doughnuts make up very quickly and they don't need to rise, which is great. The only problem I had was keeping the size of the dough going into the oil very small, so they would cook all the way through. And the yield is huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I made these doughnuts for my kids for breakfast and we loved them, but I thought that they were a little too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Very good but I had to add more flour than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Great time saving recipe! I wanted to make doughnuts for my family, but didn't want the work of a traditional doughnut. I found this recipe and was not disappointed. I used my cookie scoop to drop the doughnuts into my deep fryer, giving me nicely shaped doughnut holes everytime. This recipe makes lots. Our family of 5 has leftovers to look forward to later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzan Kenyon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I made these with my daughter, she loved them, and we gave them out to. they were a great hit. thanks dor the recipe. we will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
EXCELLENT recipe!!! Very easy and delicious. I did not have nutmeg, but added ground cloves instead. My kids ate some by adding hot fudge. I think they're great plain or with confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cali, Valle Del Cauca, Colombia
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
These were delicious. It is just my husband and I but we made the whole batch. We thought we would eat a bunch when we were making them and we thought they would keep for a couple days but they really don't. They were also huge so we had to throw a lot of them away but now we know for next time not to make near as many. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smith's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
These were delicious. I rolled them in cinnamon sugar. My kids absolutely loved them. I liked that it made a lot as they never seem to get enough of homemade doughnuts. Next time I will add more cinnamon and nutmeg along with some ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States