Applesauce Drop Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Easy to make- keep them small!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Sooooooooo good! I made these for my children before school this morning. Put some oil on thein a pan on my gas stove(med) heat and they browned up crisp, then attempted to roll them in colored decorating sugar but it didnt stick so I used powdered sugar and they are so yummy! *****I made almost all of them rolling them in the powdered sugar once cooled but NOTE if you are not going to eat them right away the powdered sugar starts to get soggy so only sugar the ones you are going to eat right away! Store them and the just before eating/serving them, roll in powdered sugar. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
these weren't Bad per se...i just should've thought out the whole "frying in deep oil" thing more before i ever went thru w/it! [guess i was just jonesin for doughnuts, big time!!] the batter flavor was quite nice - the drops puffed Way up as they cooked, so generally they were light & fluffy. all good. it was just a case of watching them cook in deep oil that made my stomach flip!! i probably ate 3 at most...hubby & son, 1/2 dozen each. the rest [a LOT] got tossed. shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Carollo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonville, New York, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
good when warm, becomes dry as they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Abilene, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
We thought they were a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
These were pretty good. It makes a HUGE quantity, so I would halve it if you're not feeding an army. Also, listen to the directions when it states to make 1tsp size doughnuts. Anything larger doesn't cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augustmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
These were delicious, fattening but delicious all the same. They reminded us of the mini doughnuts we used to buy at the swappers meet on Sundays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
scary how yummy these were! listened to another review and added apple chunks and they tasted just like apple fritters. i also used powder sugar to coat after cooking. we used to make similar dish out of rolled biscuits, but in future, will use this one instead even though it is more work....well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were easy to make and delicious. I only ended up making half of the batter and that still made a ton. Next time I am going to try adding apple pieces or use chunky applesauce like others have suggested. It was a great treat to make with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were good..i dropped the recipe to 20 servings, and still had leftovers for breakfast. I also rolled them in cinnamon sugar mix. Like another review, next time I will try to dice up apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States