Applesauce Drop Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Wow, just finished a batch of these and they were wonderful! Made them just as the recipe states, except used half and half rather then milk. Reduced to 20 servings (made it easier to measure ingredients). Used a melon baller (large side) to size them. I bit sloppy but they were a really nice size - like a large walnut. Fried for no longer then 90 seconds @ 375. Took about 30 minutes from bowl to plate. Rolled in powdered sugar as others suggested. Talk about instant gratification :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Fine, though I have to agree with other commenters who thought they were too dense. I will probably not make them again - will continue looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I thought that these were good. I didn't get a lot of apple flavor and ended up really upping the spices (inclding mace) to get a better flavor. Otherwise I thought they were a bit bland. Next time I will roll them out and use my doughnut hole cutter. I thought they got so big with the drop method that they couldn't cook fully in the middle. Still pretty good, the kids loved them! I thought that serving size is good and glad I didn't half it. With three boys and a husband, these will barely make it through the day. My thought that if I am going to use a quart plus of oil, I want to really use it and the more doughnuts the better. They do keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail Cobile
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Made these this AM. I re-calculated the servings to "30" and there was still lots of dough. I fried a few that did not get rolled in sugar and buttered them like you would a muffin (see photo). Absolutely knock-your-socks-off delish! This is not a ball of fluff. It is of a density that lets you know you don't have a mouth full of air. I played with the size also and we liked the ones that were about the size of a golf ball. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
These little doughnuts were absolutely wonderful! Made them up and liked them so much we made them for a high school cooking class. They were a hit! Also tried substituting canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling) for the applesauce and rolled them in powdered sugar and I must confess that I liked them even better!! Either way you can't go wrong with these. From start 'til finish was less than an hour and we were eating fresh hot doughnuts!! A tiny cookie dough scooper is an absolute must. Thanks so much for posting this... it's a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
made these on the wknd i got about 100 little ones when they are too hot it is not good to roll them in icing sugar cuz they absorb so much. i added little colored sprinkles to them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SalanaH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This recipe made good doughnuts, although they were not great. I made some changes. First I cut the servings to 20, and this made plenty for my family of four. Next I doubled the cinnamon. When the dough was formed, I rolled it out onto a slightly floured cutting board. I rolled the dough very thin, and then cut out little circle shapes. The thin doughnut ensured that they cooked all the way through. Immediately after frying, I dropped the doughnuts in a paper bag with a sugar cinnamon mixture, and shook them up. Then I served them to the kids. They loved them when they were warm and ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
These were pretty yummy! :) best when they're hot and fresh. I reduced the recipe to serve 40 for my family of 8 and it was still too much. I'll reduce it further next time. Also, I doubled the spice amount because that's how we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
These were tasty and oh so simple to make on a weeknight when you are craving something sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Easy to make- keep them small!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States