Applesauce Drop Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Oh, soooo good! Must Try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Showhunters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I thought these tasted pretty good, especially considering there was no yeast so they were rather quick to make. They reminded me a lot of a fried version of the donut muffin recipe from Allrecipes. I just wish I could taste the apple just a tad more. They are not really sweet. Some people may consider that bland, but I actually prefer that. The directions and times, though, were really accurate. I used the calculate button and changed the servings to 20. I was able to get 20 donut hole type donuts using leveled portions with a cookie scoop. They were easy to make in my mini plug in fryer to. I could do 6 at a time. They were good with coffee. However, strangely, the next day they tasted much better as they got soft like the donut holes at the donut shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
takes longer than a minute on each side as they are still runny on the inside - not good. Also, this was the second time I made these and I still cannot taste the apple sauce?? whats up with that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
These didn't work for me, but that might have something to do with making them cookie-scoop size instead of teaspoon size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
These were good, but were missing the extra kick I was looking for. Definitely not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I accidentally made these into something else. I was almost done mixing when I realized I only had a cup and a half of flour. The batter was nowhere near the texture needed- I didn't want to waste everything, so I tore up canned biscuits, dipped them in the mixture, and fried. Rolled in powdered sugar- they tasted like funnel cakes with a hint of apples. Everyone ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Easy and delicious. I've always been a little afraid of making donuts but these seem nearly fool proof. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Really good recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I added cinnamon and nutmeg to the sugar I coated them in. Perfect with coffee or icecream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R.Waters

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
We loved these! They are incredable warm, but when they get cold they have a very different texture. I made them for a breakfast pot luck and by the time we ate they were cold. Still good, but not as wonderful as when they are warm. If you are on a diet DO NOT be around when these are freshly made. They are that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States