Applesauce Drop Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Ohhh...my house smells amazing, like the donut stands at the fair! I used a pan with oil on my stove, with the temperature alternating between medium and one notch below medium (I have copper bottomed that hold heat). As other reviewers have said, keep the spoonfuls of batter SMALL. I was using about 1/2 teaspoonful, as the batter puffs up when it hits oil. Thanks for a delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Great time saving recipe! I wanted to make doughnuts for my family, but didn't want the work of a traditional doughnut. I found this recipe and was not disappointed. I used my cookie scoop to drop the doughnuts into my deep fryer, giving me nicely shaped doughnut holes everytime. This recipe makes lots. Our family of 5 has leftovers to look forward to later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzan Kenyon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This is a great snack doughnut. I made the whole recipe and it's huge. Next time I'll only make half. Instead of rolling them in granulated sugar, I used confectioners sugar. This way you can dip and eat, even when there cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
These are DELICIOUS! They almost taste like the little fried donuts you will find at Chinese restaurants, but much better! I highly recommend coating them with powdered sugar--it makes them taste almost like funnel cakes from the fair. I think next time I make these I will try to make them with canned pumpkin instead of applesauce to see how those taste. My only difficulty was dropping them into the oil. I think a cookie scooper is definitely a necessity for this, if you want them to turn out "pretty", although I don't have one myself. I used a deep fryer and I ended up just dropping them in by using my finger to scoop out the batter from the teaspoon. They were still ball shaped, but with little tails on them, lol. Still yummy!!! Makes a TON--we got about 3 plates of doughnuts out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILFRAZIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
delightful, added chopped apples to give it a fritter like taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
So easy and so tasty. I halved the recipe cause it makes a ton. Nice and crispy outside, soft and subtly spiced inside. I rolled mine in powdered sugar in a plastic baggie. Batter is like brownie batter, so plop Tbsp in oil and fry a minute or so on each side. Definitely a keeper. Next time I will try adding chopped apple pieces. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These doughnuts were easy to make and tasted great. I made them for New Year's, but there were still a couple left over in the morning and they tasted great cold too. Everybody loved them, they were light and filled with taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
These doughnuts make up very quickly and they don't need to rise, which is great. The only problem I had was keeping the size of the dough going into the oil very small, so they would cook all the way through. And the yield is huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
These are delicious! I divided the recipe to make 20. I threw these together very quickly when my Dad came to visit yesterday... he loved them and my husband and son loved them also... I added extra nutmeg and mace! Not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Very good. Little bit on the dense side. But i made them for a few of my boyfriends friends in the deep fryer as a late night video game snack. They loved them, but they would have liked them to be sweeter, and mentioned the same that i did about the density.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States