Applesauce Drop Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
It's okay, but not what we were looking for. The bit of nutmeg goes A LONG way. My daughter loves them, but most toddlers love ANYTHING coated with sugar. I found it was easiest to fry them around 340-360, with only a quarter teaspoon as my scooper. I did it my deep fat fryer and as one side got done, they'd magically flip over by themselves if left unhibited. Makes it easier to know they're done. The 1/4 tsp scoops came out to be bigger than golf balls and not dense at all. Just not the flavor we're looking for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
So easy and so tasty. I halved the recipe cause it makes a ton. Nice and crispy outside, soft and subtly spiced inside. I rolled mine in powdered sugar in a plastic baggie. Batter is like brownie batter, so plop Tbsp in oil and fry a minute or so on each side. Definitely a keeper. Next time I will try adding chopped apple pieces. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
These are delicious! I divided the recipe to make 20. I threw these together very quickly when my Dad came to visit yesterday... he loved them and my husband and son loved them also... I added extra nutmeg and mace! Not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabe W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This is a great snack doughnut. I made the whole recipe and it's huge. Next time I'll only make half. Instead of rolling them in granulated sugar, I used confectioners sugar. This way you can dip and eat, even when there cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
These were very heavy and kind of bland. I would not be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Very good. Little bit on the dense side. But i made them for a few of my boyfriends friends in the deep fryer as a late night video game snack. They loved them, but they would have liked them to be sweeter, and mentioned the same that i did about the density.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Awesome recipe! Light, fluffy, and tasty! My boyfriend's 2 girls loved them and the youngest one was a big help, rolling them in sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These doughnuts were easy to make and tasted great. I made them for New Year's, but there were still a couple left over in the morning and they tasted great cold too. Everybody loved them, they were light and filled with taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-89 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States