Applesauce Drop Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
it sounds real good. might have to try to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
It's okay, but not what we were looking for. The bit of nutmeg goes A LONG way. My daughter loves them, but most toddlers love ANYTHING coated with sugar. I found it was easiest to fry them around 340-360, with only a quarter teaspoon as my scooper. I did it my deep fat fryer and as one side got done, they'd magically flip over by themselves if left unhibited. Makes it easier to know they're done. The 1/4 tsp scoops came out to be bigger than golf balls and not dense at all. Just not the flavor we're looking for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
So easy and so tasty. I halved the recipe cause it makes a ton. Nice and crispy outside, soft and subtly spiced inside. I rolled mine in powdered sugar in a plastic baggie. Batter is like brownie batter, so plop Tbsp in oil and fry a minute or so on each side. Definitely a keeper. Next time I will try adding chopped apple pieces. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
These are delicious! I divided the recipe to make 20. I threw these together very quickly when my Dad came to visit yesterday... he loved them and my husband and son loved them also... I added extra nutmeg and mace! Not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabe W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This is a great snack doughnut. I made the whole recipe and it's huge. Next time I'll only make half. Instead of rolling them in granulated sugar, I used confectioners sugar. This way you can dip and eat, even when there cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
These were very heavy and kind of bland. I would not be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Very good. Little bit on the dense side. But i made them for a few of my boyfriends friends in the deep fryer as a late night video game snack. They loved them, but they would have liked them to be sweeter, and mentioned the same that i did about the density.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Awesome recipe! Light, fluffy, and tasty! My boyfriend's 2 girls loved them and the youngest one was a big help, rolling them in sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These doughnuts were easy to make and tasted great. I made them for New Year's, but there were still a couple left over in the morning and they tasted great cold too. Everybody loved them, they were light and filled with taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States