Applesauce Drop Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
We loved these! They are incredable warm, but when they get cold they have a very different texture. I made them for a breakfast pot luck and by the time we ate they were cold. Still good, but not as wonderful as when they are warm. If you are on a diet DO NOT be around when these are freshly made. They are that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I didn't add the nutmeg, and they turned out delicious! Will try again but with chopped apple added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Maybe I did something wrong but was very disappointed in these doughnuts. They had a very doughy taste to them and were not very sweet. Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These are really good! Made them this morning and they are actually quite easy. Had a bigger cookie scoop so it took a little longer to deep fry( 8 min or so). Made with a home made applesauce from this site, Sarahs applesauce! I think they will turn out even better next time i make them cause i wont have Expired baking powder :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Franken, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Yummy! Everyone enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama_kenyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I thought they lacked in flavor. I would increase the cinnamon and nutmeg next time. Had some trouble getting them cooked in the middle. A fine recipe but just so-so for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
very yummy! This recipe makes tons! Plenty enough to share with friends and neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I couldn't make these fast enough for my kids. They taste as fabulous as they sound!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bells, Texas, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
These were easy to make, but lacked flavor. I used chunky applesauce. Next time I'll add apple cider and increase the seasonings. This could be a great recipe if perfected! I give it 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
These came out great. I followed the directions exactly, but I only made 1/3 of the recipe and got about 2 dozen donut holes. I didn't want to use up too much oil, so I made mine about 2/3 of a Tbsp in size. They do puff up when fried. Don't wait too long before putting the sugar coating on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Wong Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States