Applesauce Drop Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly as written, and found the consistency of the cooked dough to be rather dense and heavy. While the flavor was okay, it seemed to be lacking enough spice for my tastes. I rolled them in a cinnamon/sugar mixture which helped improve the flavor somewhat. Also, I had to cook them a total of 4 minutes in order to get them fully cooked in the middle. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Frances Post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Oh, soooo good! Must Try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Showhunters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I thought these tasted pretty good, especially considering there was no yeast so they were rather quick to make. They reminded me a lot of a fried version of the donut muffin recipe from Allrecipes. I just wish I could taste the apple just a tad more. They are not really sweet. Some people may consider that bland, but I actually prefer that. The directions and times, though, were really accurate. I used the calculate button and changed the servings to 20. I was able to get 20 donut hole type donuts using leveled portions with a cookie scoop. They were easy to make in my mini plug in fryer to. I could do 6 at a time. They were good with coffee. However, strangely, the next day they tasted much better as they got soft like the donut holes at the donut shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
takes longer than a minute on each side as they are still runny on the inside - not good. Also, this was the second time I made these and I still cannot taste the apple sauce?? whats up with that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
These didn't work for me, but that might have something to do with making them cookie-scoop size instead of teaspoon size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
These were good, but were missing the extra kick I was looking for. Definitely not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I accidentally made these into something else. I was almost done mixing when I realized I only had a cup and a half of flour. The batter was nowhere near the texture needed- I didn't want to waste everything, so I tore up canned biscuits, dipped them in the mixture, and fried. Rolled in powdered sugar- they tasted like funnel cakes with a hint of apples. Everyone ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Easy and delicious. I've always been a little afraid of making donuts but these seem nearly fool proof. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Really good recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I added cinnamon and nutmeg to the sugar I coated them in. Perfect with coffee or icecream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R.Waters

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States