Applesauce Drop Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Oh, soooo good! Must Try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Showhunters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I thought these tasted pretty good, especially considering there was no yeast so they were rather quick to make. They reminded me a lot of a fried version of the donut muffin recipe from Allrecipes. I just wish I could taste the apple just a tad more. They are not really sweet. Some people may consider that bland, but I actually prefer that. The directions and times, though, were really accurate. I used the calculate button and changed the servings to 20. I was able to get 20 donut hole type donuts using leveled portions with a cookie scoop. They were easy to make in my mini plug in fryer to. I could do 6 at a time. They were good with coffee. However, strangely, the next day they tasted much better as they got soft like the donut holes at the donut shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
takes longer than a minute on each side as they are still runny on the inside - not good. Also, this was the second time I made these and I still cannot taste the apple sauce?? whats up with that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
These didn't work for me, but that might have something to do with making them cookie-scoop size instead of teaspoon size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
These were good, but were missing the extra kick I was looking for. Definitely not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I accidentally made these into something else. I was almost done mixing when I realized I only had a cup and a half of flour. The batter was nowhere near the texture needed- I didn't want to waste everything, so I tore up canned biscuits, dipped them in the mixture, and fried. Rolled in powdered sugar- they tasted like funnel cakes with a hint of apples. Everyone ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Easy and delicious. I've always been a little afraid of making donuts but these seem nearly fool proof. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Really good recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I added cinnamon and nutmeg to the sugar I coated them in. Perfect with coffee or icecream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R.Waters

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
We loved these! They are incredable warm, but when they get cold they have a very different texture. I made them for a breakfast pot luck and by the time we ate they were cold. Still good, but not as wonderful as when they are warm. If you are on a diet DO NOT be around when these are freshly made. They are that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States