Applesauce Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Ok, seriously yummy. The kids wanted doughnuts this morning and we amazed them by whipping up a batch in less than 40 minutes. One suggestion I have for making this recipe is make sure your dropping the batter in the oil in the "level tablespoon" size and no larger...otherwise, you've got a yummy looking raw-in-the-middle dough ball. The tablespoon amount of batter gives you a "doughnut hole" sized doughnut. Also, drain them on a paper bag instead of papertowel...it tends to keep them crisper since the papertowel creates a "steaming" effect. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazenfree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I did use homemade spiced apple butter instead of unsweetened applesauce. Right out of the oil, I tossed the hot donut holes in cinnamon/sugar mix. These are addictive little suckers. Between the three of us, we made quick work of these spiced donut holes. The kids keep talking about them and how unbelievably good they are--HUGE hit here. Next time I make these, I'd like to try another submitter's idea and try pumpkin puree in place of the applesauce. I bet that would be AWESOME. NOTE: Using one of those spring loaded cookie dough scoops to make uniform balls and to drop into the hot oil works really well. Try that. Much easier than trying to manuver a tablespoon and a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CINDYG99
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Very tasty, and I will make them again. I substituted canned pumpkin measure for measure for the applesauce successfully. I also added a bit more milk to make a runnier batter and used a doughnut batter dropper to get real doughnuts with holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYG99

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This was a delicious recipe for quick and easy doughnuts. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was not the recipe that I was looking for, but tried it anyway. WOW! My husband has made me promise not to make them again soon because he couldn't stop popping them! I followed recipe and advice from reviews, using pumpkin instead of applesauce but also added finely chopped apple to the batter. I used a candy thermometer with a pan on the stove, which seemed to work best below 375 degrees- more like 325-355. Also, small teaspoons of dough instead of larger sized doughnuts allowed the centers to cook better for me. This recipe wil be used often in the fall, particularly while DH is working and the kids can get some! Thanks for posting it for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
These were my first attempt at making doughnuts and they turned out nicely. My husband really liked them and has been snacking on them all day. They weren't quite as appley as I'd expected and I think that they would taste better rolled in a cinnamon sugar mixture. I had a hard time dropping them into the oil as perfect doughnut holes, so some of mine were a little mis-shapen but oh-well. I think I may make these again, probably in the fall when apple cider is in season. Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Excellent! However, for those of us who have just started cooking, I would like to share the mistakes I made: 1) unsweetened apple sauce means unsweetened! I had to go look for a recipe to make the sauce, and it had sugar there, thus the extra sugar burnt in the frier, and I had to start all over. 2)Sugar is not in the dry ingredients category. I didn't read through the instructions carefully, and added the sugar with the dry stuff, and so had nothing to beat the eggs with thus the fluff never came. Still hard to understand how friers work. Had it on the right temperature and all, but the outsides started browning while the insides were still wet. Plus the doughnuts soaked up too much oil. I read that adding half a teaspoon of vinger (carefully) to the hot oil will help prevent that. Will try it next time. BUT this recipe found its way to our tummies, hearts and the recipe box. Will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
The first batch looked terrible but by the second batch I got the hang of it and they actually looked like doughnuts. I also rolled the doughnuts in cinnamon sugar. Next time I make I am going to use chunky applesauce for more texture. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
We called these "Alien Donuts" for our boys. Big hit, easy to make. I added a little more flour trying to get them to congeal more, hence the name, but the boys ate 6 each, calling out each creature, crab alien, bear alien, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was a delicious and quick desert/breakfast plus you feel a little healthy with the applesauce. I used a little whole wheat flour for another healthy addition and probably could have used more. The tip about using a paper sack instead of paper towel worked very well for added crispness. And a side note, if you use this batter on a skillet, it makes delicious mini pancakes as well! We liked ours with cinnamon sugar best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springville, Utah, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Doughnuts

Homemade doughnuts dusted with confectioners' sugar.

Chef John's Bacon and Egg Doughnuts

Light and crispy doughnuts filled with bacon.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States