Applesauce Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This was a delicious recipe for quick and easy doughnuts. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
These were a wonderful taste treat! The recipe made exactly the quantity specified. They disappeared in a hurry, and my family has requested that I make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Easy! Fast! Absolutely Delicious! I needed a quick breafast fix and this was the recipe! I definitely think this will become a Saturday morning tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reiscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
These were my first attempt at making doughnuts and they turned out nicely. My husband really liked them and has been snacking on them all day. They weren't quite as appley as I'd expected and I think that they would taste better rolled in a cinnamon sugar mixture. I had a hard time dropping them into the oil as perfect doughnut holes, so some of mine were a little mis-shapen but oh-well. I think I may make these again, probably in the fall when apple cider is in season. Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
These were good served immediately but the next day had to be thrown out as they were soft and gummy. I followed the recipe exactly. They also absorbed a ton of oil!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Excellent! In making this I learned I had run out of nutmeg...but they tasted great without it! My husband and daughter loved 'em! They're even better when you dip 'em in sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Terri, these donuts were wonderful, however, weirdly shaped. Don't know what they're supposed to look like as some of mine came out quite interesting! I had one that looked like a fried chicken leg, one like an octapus, a couple of jelly fish and a squid to boot!! HA! No matter, they were fantastic. I decided to use cake flour for this recipe, used a very small ladel instead of the spoon and while still warm, dipped them into a cinnamon and sugar mixture. To make life easier, I suggest purchasing a candy thermometer in order to make sure your oil is at the correct temp. It really helps. Again, these were great Terri and daughter Ty and I thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Tyler McLean; daughter of Lind
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
My mom made these last night and they were so good! She rolled them into cinnamon and sugar which made them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
These were great! I used cinnamon flavored applesauce just because I like the extra spices. Moist and tender donut holes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
The first batch looked terrible but by the second batch I got the hang of it and they actually looked like doughnuts. I also rolled the doughnuts in cinnamon sugar. Next time I make I am going to use chunky applesauce for more texture. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Doughnuts

Homemade doughnuts dusted with confectioners' sugar.

Chef John's Bacon and Egg Doughnuts

Light and crispy doughnuts filled with bacon.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States