Applesauce Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These things were awesome! I followed the recipe exactly as it is. I suggest that you do not make a lot at a time because you will eat them all in one sitting. They are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was not the recipe that I was looking for, but tried it anyway. WOW! My husband has made me promise not to make them again soon because he couldn't stop popping them! I followed recipe and advice from reviews, using pumpkin instead of applesauce but also added finely chopped apple to the batter. I used a candy thermometer with a pan on the stove, which seemed to work best below 375 degrees- more like 325-355. Also, small teaspoons of dough instead of larger sized doughnuts allowed the centers to cook better for me. This recipe wil be used often in the fall, particularly while DH is working and the kids can get some! Thanks for posting it for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CINDYG99
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Very tasty, and I will make them again. I substituted canned pumpkin measure for measure for the applesauce successfully. I also added a bit more milk to make a runnier batter and used a doughnut batter dropper to get real doughnuts with holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYG99

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Since I was out of applesauce I used pumpkin instead. I thought they turned out fine giving it 3 stars - but since my kids loved them I gave the recipe 4 stars. We liked them best with a simple maple glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
The first batch looked terrible but by the second batch I got the hang of it and they actually looked like doughnuts. I also rolled the doughnuts in cinnamon sugar. Next time I make I am going to use chunky applesauce for more texture. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
These were great! I used cinnamon flavored applesauce just because I like the extra spices. Moist and tender donut holes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tyler McLean; daughter of Lind
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
My mom made these last night and they were so good! She rolled them into cinnamon and sugar which made them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Terri, these donuts were wonderful, however, weirdly shaped. Don't know what they're supposed to look like as some of mine came out quite interesting! I had one that looked like a fried chicken leg, one like an octapus, a couple of jelly fish and a squid to boot!! HA! No matter, they were fantastic. I decided to use cake flour for this recipe, used a very small ladel instead of the spoon and while still warm, dipped them into a cinnamon and sugar mixture. To make life easier, I suggest purchasing a candy thermometer in order to make sure your oil is at the correct temp. It really helps. Again, these were great Terri and daughter Ty and I thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Excellent! In making this I learned I had run out of nutmeg...but they tasted great without it! My husband and daughter loved 'em! They're even better when you dip 'em in sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
These were good served immediately but the next day had to be thrown out as they were soft and gummy. I followed the recipe exactly. They also absorbed a ton of oil!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States