Applesauce Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Not one for deep fat frying, I mixed up these doughnuts for my daycare kids, with the vanilla but completely without the spices, and fried them on a griddle sprayed with cooking spray. I had the griddle about 325 degrees, fried them well and sprinkled with powdered sugar and the kids ate them like there was no tomorrow. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
We were mixed on these. Batter was kindof thin, made ithard to drop in oil. They were more cake like then we were expecting (We were hoping for a lighter fritter style consistency) I rolled them while hot, in cinnamon-n-sugar. Served these with homemade hot fudge sauce II from this site and I think that is what made them good. Alone, they aren't that great.........not bad, just not to our liking! Should be eaten within a few hours of making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I am not normally one for writting reviews but today I felt compelled. I made these donuts almost exactly to recipe, the only difference was I used cinnamon applesauce instead of unsweetened, and they came out absolutely delicious but no matter what I did I could not make them resemble munchkins as the dough was too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
All I can say is "thank you". These are so good. All my kids loved them. It made a bunch so we will have some left for breakfast. I used a batter dispenser to make donut shape but I think the holes would be even better. Will try that next time. this recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These were great! My husband and step-son had these all gone within an hour! (Okay, I helped a little!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceyrichards

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Very good. Followed the recipe (besides I forgot to add the oil until I reviewed the recipe before puting the batter into the pot) and I didnt use four cups of oil and it still came out well! All i must say is that you should not expect the dough to be perfectly round like munchkins when they come out. I rolled mine in a cinammon sugar combo and enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This made plenty of doughnuts! I added 1 shredded apple and 1 package of apple cider drink mix. These turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotrgal922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ossining, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Ok, seriously yummy. The kids wanted doughnuts this morning and we amazed them by whipping up a batch in less than 40 minutes. One suggestion I have for making this recipe is make sure your dropping the batter in the oil in the "level tablespoon" size and no larger...otherwise, you've got a yummy looking raw-in-the-middle dough ball. The tablespoon amount of batter gives you a "doughnut hole" sized doughnut. Also, drain them on a paper bag instead of papertowel...it tends to keep them crisper since the papertowel creates a "steaming" effect. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazenfree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
These were quite good. I halved the recipe for three of us and still had several left over, and we pigged out :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
These were good for about one hour, then they just tasted like oil laden balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMY2GWEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States