Applesauce Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Not really apple-flavored at all, was it supposed to be? I never had applesauce donuts before so I'm not sure how they should taste. Anyway, if I make them again, I will at least put more cinnamon and nutmeg to have the apple spices and pretend that it tastes like apple instead of just dough. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
These were pretty good! Thanks for sharing a nice treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaJ
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Very easy to make and a great recipe for the apple picking time of year when you have lots of apples and your running out if recipes! After a few doughnuts I was able to get them to come out like a doughnut hole by using a small cookie scoop to drop batter into oil. Before that I had a few interesting shaped doughnuts. I also rolled them in a cinnamon sugar mixture while they were still warm. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This is awesome! I did change it slightly... I used half whole wheat flour and chunky apple sauce. The balance of flavors was perfect! It reminded me of the doughnuts we used to walk to the bakery early in the morning to get! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Didn't have cloves in the house, turned out great. Next time will dust with powdered sugar. Quick & easy when you want donuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
These were great. I only added the cinnamon and I increased the vanilla to 1 tsp. Just my preference. I only had sweetened applesauce so I decreased the white sugar a little. I didn't have a candy thermomator so I adjusted the temperature a couple of times. Mine also came out shaped oddly too. Definitley not holes but super tastey none the less. Light and crisp. I also drained on brown bag and stored any left overs in small brown lunch bag. It was great because it didn't involve yeast and rolling out dough. Thanks for the super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
These were delicious. I rolled them in cinnamon sugar. My kids absolutely loved them. I liked that it made a lot as they never seem to get enough of homemade doughnuts. Next time I will add more cinnamon and nutmeg along with some ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Not one for deep fat frying, I mixed up these doughnuts for my daycare kids, with the vanilla but completely without the spices, and fried them on a griddle sprayed with cooking spray. I had the griddle about 325 degrees, fried them well and sprinkled with powdered sugar and the kids ate them like there was no tomorrow. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
We were mixed on these. Batter was kindof thin, made ithard to drop in oil. They were more cake like then we were expecting (We were hoping for a lighter fritter style consistency) I rolled them while hot, in cinnamon-n-sugar. Served these with homemade hot fudge sauce II from this site and I think that is what made them good. Alone, they aren't that great.........not bad, just not to our liking! Should be eaten within a few hours of making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I am not normally one for writting reviews but today I felt compelled. I made these donuts almost exactly to recipe, the only difference was I used cinnamon applesauce instead of unsweetened, and they came out absolutely delicious but no matter what I did I could not make them resemble munchkins as the dough was too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States