Applesauce Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Excellent! However, for those of us who have just started cooking, I would like to share the mistakes I made: 1) unsweetened apple sauce means unsweetened! I had to go look for a recipe to make the sauce, and it had sugar there, thus the extra sugar burnt in the frier, and I had to start all over. 2)Sugar is not in the dry ingredients category. I didn't read through the instructions carefully, and added the sugar with the dry stuff, and so had nothing to beat the eggs with thus the fluff never came. Still hard to understand how friers work. Had it on the right temperature and all, but the outsides started browning while the insides were still wet. Plus the doughnuts soaked up too much oil. I read that adding half a teaspoon of vinger (carefully) to the hot oil will help prevent that. Will try it next time. BUT this recipe found its way to our tummies, hearts and the recipe box. Will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is the new favorite recipe in our house. I cooked mine in a deep fryer. We dipped some in powdered sugar and some in cinnamon and sugar. This is a must keep recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
My husband and I were in the mood for doughnuts tonight so I made these. I must say I am so impressed they were easy and quick to make. I didn't have cloves in my pantry so used allspice instead and it did very well. Yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was a delicious and quick desert/breakfast plus you feel a little healthy with the applesauce. I used a little whole wheat flour for another healthy addition and probably could have used more. The tip about using a paper sack instead of paper towel worked very well for added crispness. And a side note, if you use this batter on a skillet, it makes delicious mini pancakes as well! We liked ours with cinnamon sugar best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springville, Utah, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
They taste exactly like a doughnut hole shaped pumpkin muffin - good, but not what I was looking for. I am going to make them again, adding a cup of ricotta cheese for richness and NO cloves or nutmeg. I guess I wanted apple fritters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLGIRLJJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Excellent flavor! But there must be a trick to adding the batter to the oil; most of mine just imploded and became snakes rather than balls. I added cinnamon sugar right after pulling them out of the oil...Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
kids liked them. i made a powdered sugar/pumpkin glaze for them and dipped half of each one into it. subbed pumpkin for applesauce. all in all a solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These are good/ok. I would make them again if I had the applesauce. I wouldn't go get the applesauce to make them. I was a little disappointed that they didn't have a fruity taste. I think my expectation of what these would taste like caused me to not like them as much as I could. A way to add fruit to your diet. Good freshly baked, not so good after about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Hubby made these this morning, and they are just sinful! We are bringing them to Christmas brunch this year, for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States