Applesauce Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I feel like you need to heat the oil to 300 or it burns. Also I just used Apple Pie spice and no applesauce or pumpkin and they were pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I did use homemade spiced apple butter instead of unsweetened applesauce. Right out of the oil, I tossed the hot donut holes in cinnamon/sugar mix. These are addictive little suckers. Between the three of us, we made quick work of these spiced donut holes. The kids keep talking about them and how unbelievably good they are--HUGE hit here. Next time I make these, I'd like to try another submitter's idea and try pumpkin puree in place of the applesauce. I bet that would be AWESOME. NOTE: Using one of those spring loaded cookie dough scoops to make uniform balls and to drop into the hot oil works really well. Try that. Much easier than trying to manuver a tablespoon and a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Ok, so I stupidly followed the review that said carefully add a tsp of vinegar to the oil. DO NOT DO THIS!! It exploded hot grease all over my kitchen. Luckily it did not catch on fire or get my little girl who was across the room, but almost. Other than that, and cleaning the kitchen for 3 hours, and it's still gross, this recipe was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
great flavor, easy to make, first time I've made donuts and I had success. Smaller is better so they fry quickly. We didn't get 60 from this recipe, but my family of 7 had plenty of leftovers (ate 2/3 fresh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Mello
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
These were so easy and so delicious. We put cinnamon sugar in a brown paper bag, and the kids had great fun shaking the donuts as they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I adapted the recipe a little to include apple butter, because I didn't have any cloves or nutmeg -- but it worked masterfully! Very excellent recipe, and I've never even made donuts before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I used an extra 1/2 Cup of whole wheat flour and added big chunks of apple. Used a small pampered chef ice cream scoop and got perfect sized donut holes. Everything else was by the book. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
The BEST doughnuts ever! I rolled the fried doughnuts in a mixture of sugar and cinnamon. They disappeared really fast at my house. Kids were asking to make them again the next day! Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
We called these "Alien Donuts" for our boys. Big hit, easy to make. I added a little more flour trying to get them to congeal more, hence the name, but the boys ate 6 each, calling out each creature, crab alien, bear alien, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States