Applesauce Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
great flavor, easy to make, first time I've made donuts and I had success. Smaller is better so they fry quickly. We didn't get 60 from this recipe, but my family of 7 had plenty of leftovers (ate 2/3 fresh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
These were so easy and so delicious. We put cinnamon sugar in a brown paper bag, and the kids had great fun shaking the donuts as they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I adapted the recipe a little to include apple butter, because I didn't have any cloves or nutmeg -- but it worked masterfully! Very excellent recipe, and I've never even made donuts before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I used an extra 1/2 Cup of whole wheat flour and added big chunks of apple. Used a small pampered chef ice cream scoop and got perfect sized donut holes. Everything else was by the book. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
The BEST doughnuts ever! I rolled the fried doughnuts in a mixture of sugar and cinnamon. They disappeared really fast at my house. Kids were asking to make them again the next day! Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
We called these "Alien Donuts" for our boys. Big hit, easy to make. I added a little more flour trying to get them to congeal more, hence the name, but the boys ate 6 each, calling out each creature, crab alien, bear alien, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Excellent! However, for those of us who have just started cooking, I would like to share the mistakes I made: 1) unsweetened apple sauce means unsweetened! I had to go look for a recipe to make the sauce, and it had sugar there, thus the extra sugar burnt in the frier, and I had to start all over. 2)Sugar is not in the dry ingredients category. I didn't read through the instructions carefully, and added the sugar with the dry stuff, and so had nothing to beat the eggs with thus the fluff never came. Still hard to understand how friers work. Had it on the right temperature and all, but the outsides started browning while the insides were still wet. Plus the doughnuts soaked up too much oil. I read that adding half a teaspoon of vinger (carefully) to the hot oil will help prevent that. Will try it next time. BUT this recipe found its way to our tummies, hearts and the recipe box. Will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is the new favorite recipe in our house. I cooked mine in a deep fryer. We dipped some in powdered sugar and some in cinnamon and sugar. This is a must keep recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States