Applesauce Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by talaya
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
i baked them I didn't like them fried but I will definitely make them again??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
These were great, so easy to make and they used stuff that i already had on hand.. my grandkids loved them.. and it was super easy to let them help..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheese_honey
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Made this but I substituted the applesauce for 1 cup of fresh purée pumpkin. Very very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
WOW. I've tried several different doughnuts over the decades and my preference has always been my grandmother's recipe, but I wanted to try a recipe that didn't require waiting for yeast to rise and cutting. I have been converted! I made a few modifications because my son has several food intolerances, so I made it conform to Feingold S1 by swapping out the applesauce for pear sauce and omitting the cloves, and I shook them in cinnamon sugar. Yummy! This is definitely getting added to my rotation of snacks! For the record, I fried half in oil and baked half in the BabyCakes donut maker, and all but my 2-year old preferred the ones fried in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Perfect just as the recipe is written. I made no changes and everyone in the family enjoyed them. We ate most of them while they were still warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used fresh ground flour (wheat, oats, brown rice), and slightly reduced the sugar. At first, I made them too big and with the oil at 375, they burned on the outside and were dough in the middle. I reduced the temp and then made them with tablespoon drops, and they were ok, but they soaked up so much oil I felt a little sick. So... I broke out my corn dog maker to finish off the rest of the batter. MUCH better! I will likely make this recipe again, but I will bake it like muffins or use my corn dog maker or other electric cooker to cook it instead of frying these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
just made these this morning to try to use up the rest of last year's applesauce. They are awesome! I omitted the cloves, as a matter of personal taste, and I used my cookie scoop to get the batter in the oil. when they were done, I drained them briefly on paper towels, then rolled them in cinnamon sugar. one cup of sugar and a teaspoon of cinnamon was just about perfect to coat all of the donut holes. now that I have this recipe, we will no longer have to buy the expensive donuts at the apple orchard! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christianmusician8
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
These are the best doughnuts I've ever had! I doubled the amount of cinnamon, but kept everything else the same. I baked them in a doughnut maker I had for about 8-10 minutes until a cake tester cake out clean. I pulled the doughnuts out with chop-sticks and rolled them in sugar cinnamon! It was really hard to stop myself from eating more than I should... I got about 3 dozen using my maker which is a little larger than standard doughnut holes you'd get at the store. They were so fluffy & the first recipe I've tried in the maker that actually raised to fill the wells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
These could be called applesauce spiced doughnuts; you taste more of the spices than the applesauce. I did have an idea that was going to happen, though, from all the reviews I read. I don't like frying foods; it's rather time consuming and I don't digest fried foods well. Instead of frying, I used my new Wilton doughnut pan to bake the doughnuts. It took about 6-7 minutes at 425 but they came out rather nice. I thought about dipping in sugar; but with baking I'd have to brush with something, perhaps butter or margarine, to accomplish that, and I wasn't in the mood last night. Maybe next time. This is a very forgiving recipe; I accidently switched the amounts of baking powder and baking soda and still got a decent batch of doughnuts. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, but baked the doughnuts. I cooked them at 375 degrees for 8 minutes. I won't cook them as long next time, they were a little dry compared to the description, but tasted great. My daughter also wanted to taste the apple, not all the spices, so I will cut back on those, even though I really liked them, and increase the amount of apple sauce so the apple flavor is what you taste and it's more moist since I'll definitely bake them again. I'll also sprinkle sugar on them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States