Applesauce Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2000
I tried this recipe with homemade applesauce. It turned out so well, I thought my husband would take his fork to the pie pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
This pie was OK, but sooooooo sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Very good! A little sweet for my taste, so I may put in 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup next time, but otherwise delicious. I used cinnamon apple sauce and my boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This was easy to make, but my husband hated the combination of applesauce and custard. He also said he didn't like the texture. Of course this is just a matter of personal taste so I'm sure people that like applesauce and custard would probably enjoy this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
This is a great recipe - not your average apple pie. I love the custard/apple mix - it works great with homemade applesauce made with tart apples. Very easy and it has always turned out perfectly for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I'm not sure what I did wrong here, but this has been in the oven for 45 minutes and is nowhere near being set! The edges of the crust are burned BIG TIME, but the rest of the pie is boiling like stew!! I tasted the filling before baking and liked it so I'm giving 2 stars instead of 1. I'm so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Good Pie! I used unsweetened store bought applesauce and decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup. No problems - just delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Super easy to make, takes very little time, I'm not sure if it was the greatest though, fairly plain and simple, we weren't too crazy about it, probably won't make it again as it's not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANNOUSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Too bad the star rating only goes to 5, because this one deserves many more!!! Thanks for submitting this DELICIOUS recipe, Cathy. After reading other reviews, I decided to omit a portion of the sugar also, I found 2/3 cup was sufficient and the pie was still plenty sweet. Next time this gem is prepared, I will add some raisins. I did use a mix of cloves, nutmeg and cinnamon in the "batter", which floated to the top as the pie cooked ... Perfect in every way, and "so tasty too" ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This is very good! I thought it sounded a little odd, but had a bunch of applesauce to use up, so decided to try it -- it was a hit and disappeared quickly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States