Applesauce Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Made this yesterday and I did have to let it cook longer than stated probably b/c I live at a high elevation. I also covered the crust edges with foil strips before I baked the pie. Good taste and sweet enough for my husband. I also used unsweetened applesauce and the amount of sugar called for. Thanks for an easy and different pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Very sweet. Did not turn out as "custardly" as I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I thought this was a great change from a regular apple or custard pie! So easy to make too. Like other reviewers, I also used 2/3 cup sugar and it was plenty sweet enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This pie was really good and easy to make. Other reviewers complained about it being too sweet, but perhaps they used sweetened applesauce? I think this recipe is meant to have unsweetened applesauce used in it. For my pie, I tried something a bit different that ended up being excellent. A certain famous applesauce brand whose name begins with an "M" sells all-natural "no sugar added flavored applesauce in those little individual serving 6 packs. I made my pie with the peach flavor and it was delicious! I used between 3/4 and full cup of sugar and it was not too sweet at all. When making the pie, be sure to cover the crust edges with foil or pie protector during the last 10 mins. or so of baking so it won't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This is very good! I thought it sounded a little odd, but had a bunch of applesauce to use up, so decided to try it -- it was a hit and disappeared quickly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Too bad the star rating only goes to 5, because this one deserves many more!!! Thanks for submitting this DELICIOUS recipe, Cathy. After reading other reviews, I decided to omit a portion of the sugar also, I found 2/3 cup was sufficient and the pie was still plenty sweet. Next time this gem is prepared, I will add some raisins. I did use a mix of cloves, nutmeg and cinnamon in the "batter", which floated to the top as the pie cooked ... Perfect in every way, and "so tasty too" ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Super easy to make, takes very little time, I'm not sure if it was the greatest though, fairly plain and simple, we weren't too crazy about it, probably won't make it again as it's not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANNOUSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Good Pie! I used unsweetened store bought applesauce and decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup. No problems - just delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I'm not sure what I did wrong here, but this has been in the oven for 45 minutes and is nowhere near being set! The edges of the crust are burned BIG TIME, but the rest of the pie is boiling like stew!! I tasted the filling before baking and liked it so I'm giving 2 stars instead of 1. I'm so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
This is a great recipe - not your average apple pie. I love the custard/apple mix - it works great with homemade applesauce made with tart apples. Very easy and it has always turned out perfectly for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States