Applesauce Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This pie was really good and easy to make. Other reviewers complained about it being too sweet, but perhaps they used sweetened applesauce? I think this recipe is meant to have unsweetened applesauce used in it. For my pie, I tried something a bit different that ended up being excellent. A certain famous applesauce brand whose name begins with an "M" sells all-natural "no sugar added flavored applesauce in those little individual serving 6 packs. I made my pie with the peach flavor and it was delicious! I used between 3/4 and full cup of sugar and it was not too sweet at all. When making the pie, be sure to cover the crust edges with foil or pie protector during the last 10 mins. or so of baking so it won't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Too bad the star rating only goes to 5, because this one deserves many more!!! Thanks for submitting this DELICIOUS recipe, Cathy. After reading other reviews, I decided to omit a portion of the sugar also, I found 2/3 cup was sufficient and the pie was still plenty sweet. Next time this gem is prepared, I will add some raisins. I did use a mix of cloves, nutmeg and cinnamon in the "batter", which floated to the top as the pie cooked ... Perfect in every way, and "so tasty too" ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Awesome! I think the people that found it too sweet were using regular applesauce. I boiled up 3 apples and made my own (2 large braeburns and 1 granny smith) with no sugar there. I used a full cup of sugar and it wasn't too sweet. However, I just added spices until I thought it looked "spicy" enough! A bit of nutmeg, some cinnamon, cloves would be great in this I think...just a tad. I also ended up baking this without the crust as my crust didn't turn out the way I would have hoped. The only problem with that is the sugar crystallized on the edges. Perhaps that's because I didn't use a mixer. I probably cooked it a little longer than called for as I used smaller pie plates, but I loved the way it turned out. The consistency was a bit like pumpkin pie...would be excellent with some whipped cream on top! I think I'll be making this as an additional pie for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Good Pie! I used unsweetened store bought applesauce and decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup. No problems - just delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I made this last night using the Best Ever Pie Crust and Crumb Topping For Pies recipes from this site. I added nutmeg, cloves, and cinnamon like another reviewer and it turned out delicous. Next time I think I will make 2 pies out of the mixture instead of one though since part of the filling ended up in the bottom of my oven (probably from the topping). Definately a keeper though. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I used organic no sugar added applesauce, a heaping 1/3 cup Splenda, salted butter, and lightly sprinkled McCormick’s Cinnamon and Sugar on top and it turned out great. Just right if you are craving something sweet and you are a diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I really wanted to love this recipe because it had so many good reviews. The only thing I did different was add a tad more vanilla. The middle didn't set up at all, even after cooking for close to an hour. The flavor was different and nice, but I ended up with soup. Since so many reviewers had great pies, I may try again and possibly lower the oven temp after cooking halfway so the custard cooks a little slower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Just made this and it is absolutely wonderful. I used Musselmen's Chunky Applesauce and followed the recipe exactly. It set up perfectly and was one of the easiest pies I've ever made. Great recipe, Cathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This sounded interesting & I had lots of extra homemade applesauce to work with today so we tried it. Put together exactly as written & the result was a creamy texture with great but subtle flavor. The only note I have to make is on the baking time. I started with 35 minutes at 425 and ended up with the pie in the oven for a full hour to get the filling to set. In the future, I'll treat this as I would the pumpkin pie. High temp for 15 minutes then knock it back to 350 for another 35 to 40 minutes. My applesauce is simply tart apples cooked down with no sugar & run through the food mill. Using the full cup of sugar called for in the recipe was spot on in this case. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Very good! A little sweet for my taste, so I may put in 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup next time, but otherwise delicious. I used cinnamon apple sauce and my boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States