Applesauce Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Just made this and it is absolutely wonderful. I used Musselmen's Chunky Applesauce and followed the recipe exactly. It set up perfectly and was one of the easiest pies I've ever made. Great recipe, Cathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This recipe was really good and I don't think it was too sweet. However, the texture was a little off for me so next time I will try to thicken it a tad to make it a little more firm. Also, next time I intend to try it with homemade cinnamon applesauce, I'm sure it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This pie would NOT set. I'm an experienced baker and followed the recipe to a T. Sorry! It sounded really yummy but was completely liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is a great recipe! Even my 5 yr old who doesn't eat pie loved this one. I used a ready bake graham crust for this recipe. I used the amount of butter required for the recipe but it was a little to much for me as I could taste it in the pie. I will use 1/2 the amount the next time around. I plan to make this for a holiday party that my daughter's school is having next week. I hope the kids and teachers enjoy it as much as we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Awesome!! This is an easy recipe as well as delicious. I used sweetened cinnamon applesauce, 1/2 cup egg substitute, increased the vanilla to 1/2 tsp., lowered the sugar to 1/2 cup, added 1/2 tsp of lemon juice to cut sweetness and sprinkled the top with cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves before baking. I served it warm with a dolop of whipped topping. My family loved it. It was gone in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I loved this recipe. I chopped up a fresh apple and added it in with the apple sauce. It did not set as well as I thought it would but I think that was my fault. I should have adjusted the cooking time after adding the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I used organic no sugar added applesauce, a heaping 1/3 cup Splenda, salted butter, and lightly sprinkled McCormick’s Cinnamon and Sugar on top and it turned out great. Just right if you are craving something sweet and you are a diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This dessert was so light on the pallet, and very easy to make. Definitely worth a re-make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Awesome! I think the people that found it too sweet were using regular applesauce. I boiled up 3 apples and made my own (2 large braeburns and 1 granny smith) with no sugar there. I used a full cup of sugar and it wasn't too sweet. However, I just added spices until I thought it looked "spicy" enough! A bit of nutmeg, some cinnamon, cloves would be great in this I think...just a tad. I also ended up baking this without the crust as my crust didn't turn out the way I would have hoped. The only problem with that is the sugar crystallized on the edges. Perhaps that's because I didn't use a mixer. I probably cooked it a little longer than called for as I used smaller pie plates, but I loved the way it turned out. The consistency was a bit like pumpkin pie...would be excellent with some whipped cream on top! I think I'll be making this as an additional pie for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Too sweet, even with 2/3 cup sugar. No flavor, even with nutmeg, cloves, and cinnamon. Husband did not like at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States