Applesauce Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This recipe was really good and I don't think it was too sweet. However, the texture was a little off for me so next time I will try to thicken it a tad to make it a little more firm. Also, next time I intend to try it with homemade cinnamon applesauce, I'm sure it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This pie would NOT set. I'm an experienced baker and followed the recipe to a T. Sorry! It sounded really yummy but was completely liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is a great recipe! Even my 5 yr old who doesn't eat pie loved this one. I used a ready bake graham crust for this recipe. I used the amount of butter required for the recipe but it was a little to much for me as I could taste it in the pie. I will use 1/2 the amount the next time around. I plan to make this for a holiday party that my daughter's school is having next week. I hope the kids and teachers enjoy it as much as we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Awesome!! This is an easy recipe as well as delicious. I used sweetened cinnamon applesauce, 1/2 cup egg substitute, increased the vanilla to 1/2 tsp., lowered the sugar to 1/2 cup, added 1/2 tsp of lemon juice to cut sweetness and sprinkled the top with cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves before baking. I served it warm with a dolop of whipped topping. My family loved it. It was gone in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I loved this recipe. I chopped up a fresh apple and added it in with the apple sauce. It did not set as well as I thought it would but I think that was my fault. I should have adjusted the cooking time after adding the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I used organic no sugar added applesauce, a heaping 1/3 cup Splenda, salted butter, and lightly sprinkled McCormick’s Cinnamon and Sugar on top and it turned out great. Just right if you are craving something sweet and you are a diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This dessert was so light on the pallet, and very easy to make. Definitely worth a re-make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Awesome! I think the people that found it too sweet were using regular applesauce. I boiled up 3 apples and made my own (2 large braeburns and 1 granny smith) with no sugar there. I used a full cup of sugar and it wasn't too sweet. However, I just added spices until I thought it looked "spicy" enough! A bit of nutmeg, some cinnamon, cloves would be great in this I think...just a tad. I also ended up baking this without the crust as my crust didn't turn out the way I would have hoped. The only problem with that is the sugar crystallized on the edges. Perhaps that's because I didn't use a mixer. I probably cooked it a little longer than called for as I used smaller pie plates, but I loved the way it turned out. The consistency was a bit like pumpkin pie...would be excellent with some whipped cream on top! I think I'll be making this as an additional pie for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Too sweet, even with 2/3 cup sugar. No flavor, even with nutmeg, cloves, and cinnamon. Husband did not like at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I made this last night using the Best Ever Pie Crust and Crumb Topping For Pies recipes from this site. I added nutmeg, cloves, and cinnamon like another reviewer and it turned out delicous. Next time I think I will make 2 pies out of the mixture instead of one though since part of the filling ended up in the bottom of my oven (probably from the topping). Definately a keeper though. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States