Applesauce Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Filling did set but was floating in butter. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Without the crust, this pie works great for a gluten free dessert. I increase the ingredients by 1/2 and throw it all in a blender for a couple of minutes. Then I pour it into a greased 9" glass pie pan and cook it for about 50 minutes. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oceanside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
The flavor is wonderful but like some of the others, mine simply did not set up like custard. I left it in the oven for 50 minutes. I wish someone could tell me why it didn't set because I would love to try it again and have it work like so many others. Please help if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I don't know what happened but wasn't very good and almost too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
tried out this recipe and the only thing I can say about it is WONDERFUL. The only thing wrong with it is it is so rich and creamy you want to keep eating it but it is so filling. I don't usually have much leftovers from a dessert but plenty left for the next day because you want to save some for then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Delicious! Could due with not being as sweet though. Next time we make this recipe we are going to cut the sugar in half and see how that is. It is wonderfully flavorful if you have a sweet tooth ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Talbot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was SO good! I read the other reviews prior to making this and ended up making the pie the next day and forgot to cut the sugar in half. It was fairly sweet, but still really good. You get the custard flavor followed by the tang of the applesauce which was delightful! Next time I make this ( which there will be a next time) I plan on cutting the sugar in half if I use an applesauce with sugar in it already. I would also suggest covering the crust of the pie. The sugar crystallized and burnt on the outside of the crust. Other than that, this is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I was concerned that other reviewers thought this was too sweet so I started with 1/2 cup Splenda and tasted it. It was plenty sweet enough for me so I stopped there. I subbed apple pie spice for the cinnamon and didn't really measure, just sprinkled on top. It was very easy to put together and quite tasty. I will make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was a good pie but I found myself wanting some texture to it (and I even took someone's suggestion and added a crumb topping with oats as well as cinnamon). I was thinking that a diced apple might do the trick, but then I also liked that it was really quick to put together since there wasn't any fruit to cut up and my family liked it. I would probably make this again if I was really craving apple pie and had apple sauce and no apples, but a traditional apple pie is still my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Just made this and it is absolutely wonderful. I used Musselmen's Chunky Applesauce and followed the recipe exactly. It set up perfectly and was one of the easiest pies I've ever made. Great recipe, Cathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States