Applesauce Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Not that great, sorry. Thought the applesauce would make it more moist, but it wasn't that moist. Ok flavor but that amusement park cornbread recipe on her is a million times better. I will admit that I doubled this recipe and made into mini-muffins for a chili supper, which maybe effected it moistness and texture - might have been better baked in just 8X8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Unfortunately, we took one bite and discarded the remainder, very disappointing. Curiously, this tasted and smelled like fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I hope there was a misprint in the recipe re: the amount of baking soda. This bread was AWFUL, tasting strongly of baking soda. Could it be 1/2 tsp???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I should definitely have read the reviews before I made this. Threw the whole thing out after one taste...all I could taste was baking soda. I do believe there is an error in the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bedford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
As is, this recipe is not very good. Too much baking soda -- the bitterness is terrible. Switch to self-rising flour and cornmeal and it becomes much better -- rating at least a 3 and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Without the sugar it does not taste sweet if you prefer it that way. It is moist and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
My family and i thought this was really good. But i did take other peoples advice and cut back on the baking soda. I also added a little more applesauce and sugar and it was great. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
A little on the dry side, I'll use more applesauce next time, but all together good when you add the butter and honey! I did take the advice given and cut the baking soda to 1/2 tsp. instead of the 2 tsp. it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wyoming, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I love love this corn bread. I read some of the other reviews before I made it. They said it was a little bit on the dry side and too much baking soda. So, I doubled the apple sauce and added a 1/4 cup of butter to the recipe. I also cut the baking soda in half. I had some fresh oregano and marjoram I chopped up and added about a teaspoon to it. Yummy!!! This is my favorite. The secret to good corn bread is to not let it bake too long. If it's starting to turn brown and the tooth pick comes out clean pull it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelisaC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I took the advice of all the reviewers and reduced the baking soda to 1 tsp and increased the applesauce to 1/2 cup. Admittedly, I have a taste preference for sweeter cornbread, so in the future, I would add some honey. With these modifications, this rose well and was plenty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States